If She Weren’t Writing In Blood, She’d Bring Him Her Jokes

I realized recently that I haven’t written much about movies or TV shows I enjoy.  I actually watch a fair amount of movies and TV (mostly via Netflix since we cut our cable well over a year ago), but I just haven’t written much about it.

I decided to do a random list for this week’s Sunday Lists post, and thought it might be fun to write about some of my favorite characters.  I was originally going to open it to both TV and movies, but I’ve now decided to stick with only TV … I just thought the list could get way too long if I included both.  (I may make a couple of follow-up posts in the future, though, featuring my favorite characters from movies and literature.)

I realize that my taste in TV shows is quite literally all over the place.  I’m not ashamed to admit that I really love silly teen dramas like Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars while still appreciating more “respectable” (at least for someone my age) shows like Dexter and Breaking Bad.  I think this will become pretty obvious as you read through my list.

This week’s list: My Top Ten Favorite TV Characters 

10.) George Costanza from Seinfeld

Image

Ahhh … The scrap of paper that proved too much for George’s morbidly obese friend.  Image courtesy of http://www.librarything.com.

I don’t know why, but I’ve always found George to be the best and funniest character on Seinfeld.  (And that’s saying a lot, because everyone on that show is hilarious!)  Poor George always seemed to get the short end of the stick when it came to, well, everything.  I always just wanted to give him a hug and tell him everything would be okay … Well, it probably would be.  But I wouldn’t want to cramp his style too much.  After all, I wouldn’t want to kill independent George!

9.) Rachel Green from Friends

Image

Awww … One of my favorite TV couples ever.  Image courtesy of http://www.extratv.com.

Friends was one of my favorite TV shows growing up, and I liked all of the main characters a lot.  There was something about Rachel, though, that I always appreciated.  I think part of it was the fact that she was the character who seemed to grow the most throughout the life of the series.  She went from spoiled rich girl to struggling waitress to finding her place with a career in fashion to being a mom.  And though the show was obviously goofy and over the top much of the time, Rachel was a character that seemed pretty “real” … Like she could actually be your best friend.

8.) Kevin Arnold from The Wonder Years

Image

Seriously … How adorable is this?  Image courtesy of dailycaller.com.

This show, like the two previously mentioned, is an absolute classic in my eyes.  Kevin was the too adorable for words main character that I always hoped would have a happy ending with his childhood sweetheart, Winnie Cooper.  His experiences growing up on The Wonder Years made him one of the most genuinely relatable characters ever written for TV.

7.) Dan Humphrey from Gossip Girl

Image

I always loved the Dan/Serena relationship … Even when it got uncomfortably weird thanks to their parents.  Image courtesy of http://www.fanpop.com.

Despite their obvious flaws, I actually like the majority of the main characters on Gossip Girl.  Dan Humphrey was always my favorite, though.  He was fairly introverted and, for the most part, never really felt like he belonged, which made him seem much more human than any of the others.  He was also a writer, and I’m always especially drawn to characters who love writing as much as I do. 

6.) Aria Montgomerey from Pretty Little Liars

Image

I wish I could pull off some of the stuff she wears on the show!  Image courtesy of weheartit.com.

Pretty Little Liars is another of those shows that, despite their flaws, I actually really like all of the main characters.  Aria is my favorite, though.  I love her sense of style, her love for reading and writing, and her loyalty to those she loves.  She seems like the kind of person I’d be friends with in real life if she actually existed (and I was back in high school).

5.) Walter White from Breaking Bad

Image

I can’t believe this show is ending and I still haven’t gotten caught up.  No spoilers please!  Image courtesy of blogs.amctv.com.

Walter White is an interesting character because you just love him at the start of the series and then learn that maybe you should actually fear him as the show progresses.  I’ll admit that Eric and I haven’t finished watching all of the seasons of Breaking Bad, but thus far I’ve found Walter to be one of the most interesting and complex characters on TV.

4.) Michael Scott from The Office

Image

Michael Scott’s wishful thinking: World’s Best Boss.  Image courtesy of wikipedia.org.

The Office just wasn’t the same without Michael Scott.  Although there are many other awesome characters (some of my favorites include Dwight, Jim, and Pam), the show just sort of fell apart (at least in my opinion) when this character was written off.  He’s crazy, obnoxious, and generally a pretty awful person … But for some reason, I can’t help but like him.  He says the most random hilarious things, and makes everyone uncomfortable.  If I had a boss like Michael Scott, I’d want to leave my job immediately.  

3.) Dexter Morgan from Dexter

Image

He’s actually doing this for a good cause … I swear!  Image courtesy of blogs.pioneerlocal.com.

I love the character of Dexter Morgan.  He truly lives a double life, and constantly struggles with the darkness within himself.  He tries to use his murderous tendencies for good, which makes him one of the most interesting and, dare I say, lovable fictional serial killers ever created.  As a whole, Dexter is a great show, but the title character is what makes it amazing.

2.) Rory Gilmore from Gilmore Girls

Image

It’s no wonder I relate to this character … I mean, just look at what she’s reading in this picture!  Image courtesy of blog.nathanbransford.com.

Gilmore Girls has always been one of my favorite TV shows.  I started watching it in high school, and continued to follow it in college and after until it ended.  I always related to overachieving Rory, who was somewhat socially awkward, loved reading and coffee, and had a BFF relationship with her single mother.  The way the show was written, Rory was one year behind me in school … And though this may sound odd, it was kind of interesting to see how the character’s experiences were in relation to my own.  I own all seasons of this show on DVD and continue to watch it pretty regularly.  It’s a witty show with great characters that I hope to never tire of.

1.) Carrie Bradshaw from Sex and the City

Image

I was always jealous of Carrie’s job as a writer.  What an amazing life … Getting paid to write in one of my favorite cities in the U.S.  Image courtesy of http://www.heavenonbourke.com.

It’s probably extremely cliché to make a list of favorite TV characters with Carrie Bradshaw at the top, but I don’t care.  Sex and the City, though often over the top, was a great show.  And although many of the situations presented were much more dramatic than those I experienced, many were extremely relatable.  Carrie’s on-again-off-again relationship with Mr. Big was one of the most heartbreaking things for me to watch at a certain time in my life, mainly because so much of it rang true for me.  And, no surprise here, Carrie Bradshaw is yet another character I love with a passion for writing.  I know some people hate this character because she can be completely neurotic (among other things), but I’ve always loved her because, despite all the crazy drama on the show, she seemed so real.

Leave a Reply

