And It’s Hard To See What I’m Capable Of

It’s Thursday, and you know what that means!  (Or maybe you don’t … Especially if you didn’t read my first post on this blog.)  Well, in case you aren’t sure, Thursday means it’s time for me to treat this blog more like a personal journal.

This week’s topic: Camping.

Image

This is what I call “ideal camping.”  Image courtesy of huskyhiker.com.

My confession?  Until Memorial Day weekend 2013, I had never gone camping.  I’d avoided it like the plague, as it just seemed awful to me.  Bugs?  Heat?  Disgusting public showers and bathrooms?  No thanks!

Eric, on the other hand, loves camping.  When he and his brothers were growing up, they often went camping with their parents during the summer.  He’s shared a lot of stories with me throughout our relationship … He had a lot of fond memories tied to those camping trips, so it was obviously something very important to him.  That being said, I felt like I just couldn’t bring myself to go.  Until Memorial Day weekend this year.

What changed?  Well, to be honest, nothing has really changed (except for the fact that we’re now an engaged couple, of course).  However, two of my close girlfriends invited me to go to Bonnaroo with them this year (don’t worry, I’ll definitely blog about that experience!).  For those who aren’t familiar with Bonnaroo, it’s a four day music festival held in Manchester, Tennessee that features a huge variety of acts (this year these acts included Bjork, Portugal. The Man, Paul McCartney, Of Monsters and Men, Two Gallants, The National, and Wu-Tang Clan, to name a few).  Did I mention it’s an outdoor music festival?  An outdoor musical festival complete with bugs, heat, Porta-Potties galore, and sleeping in tents.

So I decided to do a trial run.  Well, kind of.  I agreed to go camping with Eric and his parents for a couple of nights just to get a feel for it.  And you know what?  I actually had fun!

I’ll spare any readers all of the boring details, but I will let you in on some of the highlights:

Paddle boating!

Image

Not exactly the most flattering picture, but whatever.  Personal photo.

Climbing “the tower!”

Image

We made it to the top!  Personal photo.

Feeding psychotic geese!  (Seriously, they were hissing at us for more bread!) 

 Image

Yeah, it looked a little something like that.  Image courtesy of http://www.portlandmercury.com.

S’mores by the campfire!  (I didn’t have an actual picture of us eating our s’mores, so I had to improvise here.)

Image

That looks amazing!  Image courtesy of http://www.detroitmommies.com.

Sleeping in a small tent that his parents have had for years!  (Not to mention getting rained out of it on our second night out and joining his parents in their camper.  That was maybe not a highlight, but still worth noting.)

 Image

It’s definitely not as pretty as the tent in the first picture of this post, but it worked … Until we got rained out, of course.  Personal photo.

And, of course, just hanging out … Talking, reading, drinking.  Good times (though you may not be able to tell based on the look on my face in this picture, haha).

Image

Yep, that’s me without any makeup … And with a strange look on my face.  I’m not sure what’s going on here, to be honest.  Personal photo.

As you can see, I really did have a lot of fun.  I’m not a seasoned camper by any means, but I’d be up for going again.  Sometimes it’s important to step outside your comfort zone … And, as silly as it may sound, going camping definitely forced me to do that.

Leave a Reply

