Don’t Get Sentimental, It Always Ends Up Drivel

My last post was obviously really personal.  It was about my proposal, after all!

But it’s Thursday … And that means it’s time to write something personal (or at least semi-personal).

I have a shocking confession to make: My life isn’t always exciting.  I mean, let’s face it … Most people are just like me.  They work full time, have hobbies, maybe have a significant other, and do awesome stuff once in a while.  

So, with that in mind, I’ll occasionally do a “Blast from the past” segment during my Thursday blog posts.  What does that mean exactly?  Well, it means I’ll be sharing an anecdote or story from my life that is at least 3 years old.  I realize that 3 years isn’t a long time to most, but I feel like a lot can change and happen in that amount of time … So it will be kind of fun to revisit various points in my life.

This week’s blast from the past post: A brief ode to AIM.

I’m 28, so I’m [gasp!] old.  Okay, I know I’m not that old, but I’m probably older than some of the people who might stumble across this blog.  That being said, some readers may remember this well while others may not.

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.tumblr.com.

AIM (or AOL Instant Messenger) was all the rage back in the day.  I was almost always logged in while I was in college … Though I typically had an away message up because I was much too “cool” to be sitting around in my dorm, staring at my computer.  (Or, you know, I was actually sitting at my computer like 95% of the time.)

AIM was a great way to keep in touch with people, though sometimes my AIM conversations got weird.  I saved a lot of them over the years, and looking back I wonder how random people from my past found my screenname … And what possessed them to message me after not speaking to me for years.

For example, a guy I had a huge crush on in middle school randomly IMed me when I was a junior in college.  I was 20 years old at that point, and since the guy had moved away while we were still young, I literally had not seen or spoken to him in at least 7 years (or more).  To this day I have no clue how he found me on AIM.  I still think that was one of the strangest, most random conversations I’ve ever had with anyone online.

Despite the sometimes awkward interactions, AIM was pretty great.  One of the best things about AIM was the fact that sometimes I felt brave when I used it.  It sounds ridiculous, but there are some things that can’t be said face-to-face (or even over the phone).  AIM was like … Pre-text, I guess.  (I don’t remember texting often during the time I still used AIM, anyway.)

AIM was perfect for flirting with guys I liked, and also for telling people how I really felt.  Sometimes that was a good thing, and sometimes it really wasn’t.  (Telling your ex-boyfriend how pissed off you are about the way he ended things, for example.  Oh yes.  I did that years ago.)

I realize this post is all over the place … I apologize.

The point here is that back in the day, AIM was the shit.  I still enjoy reading through any saved conversations I have because many of them are just so outrageous.  I’m like, “Did I really say that?” 

Yes.  Yes I did.

If anyone is reading this and feels the need to share a story about AIM, please do.  I can’t be the only one who found great amusement in using this service years ago!

Leave a Reply

