As You Talk To Me, Too Much You’re Assuming … We Don’t Always Want What’s Right

This week’s list: Five Things I Should Probably Like But Don’t

This week I’m going to talk about some things I feel I should probably like based on my personal tastes and interests, recommendations from people who know me well, etc.  I should like these things … But, for one reason or another, I just don’t.  

5.) Twitter

Image

Image courtesy of blog.twitter.com.

I use Facebook.  I use Pinterest.  I even blog.  But I don’t use Twitter.

I signed up for a Twitter account a long time ago.  So long ago, in fact, that I honestly can’t even remember the username I selected for myself.  I’d heard only positive things about it, and I’d read that it can be an invaluable networking tool in many cases … So I figured I should jump on the bandwagon and use it.

I think I literally signed in one time (and posted zero times).  I poked around a bit, trying to figure out what all the fuss was about.  I guess I never figured it out, because I thought it seemed ridiculous and boring.

I realize that Facebook has unfortunately kind of become much like Twitter with the news feed and status updates.  People love to post about what they had for breakfast, what they’re doing later, and things that are of a much more TMI nature.  (Seriously, some things are just better left unsaid!)  I think that’s what I didn’t like about Twitter in the first place.  Everyone seemed to want to post bigger, better, more interesting things so that people would want to follow them, but no one was really saying anything at all.

@Twitter #notafan  

At least I’ve got the lingo down … I think.

4.) E-Readers

Image

Image courtesy of arstechnica.com.

I can understand the appeal of e-readers like the Kindle.  They’re great for people who travel frequently, want to save space, or want to purchase (and receive!) books with the click of a button.  But … I just don’t like them.

My mom offered to buy Kindles for Eric and me a year or two ago for Christmas.  He was kind of like, “Eh, I might use it or I might not.”  I was like, “I definitely am not interested.”  Call me old fashioned, but I love to hold a book in my hands, flip through the pages, and (no, I’m not kidding) I love the smell of books.  A Kindle will not be able to recreate those things for me.

I also love book shopping.  I’ve always loved the feeling I get when I go to a book store (new or used, it doesn’t matter), strolling up and down the aisles and thumbing through any books that spark my interest.  I do order books on Amazon regularly, but I still would never completely replace the experience of in person book shopping with online book shopping.

I wish I wanted a Kindle.  I really do.  I have tons of books, and my collection continues to grow … I’m sure at some point I’ll need more bookshelves to house them.  I love to travel, and a Kindle would be much easier to tote around than a thick, heavy novel.  I would never have to wait impatiently for my books to arrive from Amazon again.  

But … I just don’t.

3.) Human Nature

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.amazon.com.

I love Charlie Kaufman.  Love him.  I will watch anything as long as his name is attached to the project.  

Adaptation.?  Awesome.

Synecdoche, New York?  Wonderful.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind?  One of the most heartbreakingly beautiful films I’ve seen.

Being John Malkovich?  One of my favorite movies of all time.

Human Nature?  Sucked.

I wanted to love this movie.  I really did.  I mean, Charlie Kaufman wrote it and Michel Gondry directed it.  (This is the same team that produced the amazing Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.)  The plot sounded interesting (could I expect any less from Charlie Kaufman?), and I expected a blend of dark humor, the absurd, and an overall unique viewing experience.

I saw this movie several years ago, so it’s not really fresh in my mind.  I will say, though, that I remember being bored with it as I watched it.  I also remember wanting to shut it off several times but thinking, “No.  It will get better.”  It never got better.

Sorry, Charlie Kaufman.  I still love you.

2.) The Postal Service

Image

Image courtesy of pitchfork.com.

Death Cab for Cutie is one of my favorite bands … And I still hate The Postal Service.  

I want to like them, but their style just grates on my nerves.  I mean, the song “Such Great Heights” is great lyrically … But, to be honest, I much prefer the Iron & Wine version.  

I’m not the type of person who expects side projects to sound just like the person’s “main” body of work.  I genuinely think some people can produce incredibly diverse and amazing music by branching out a bit and trying something completely different (Dallas Green of Alexisonfire/City and Colour and James Mercer of The Shins/Broken Bells immediately come to mind, but I’m sure I could think of more). 

I also enjoy some more “electronic” and/or “experimental” music.  But there’s something about the “electropop” sound of The Postal Service that’s just completely obnoxious to me.

In summary:

Ben Gibbard in Death Cab = Phenomenal

Ben Gibbard in The Postal Service = Thank God this was only a side project

1.) Atonement

Image

Image courtesy of IMDB.com.

I’m referring to both the book and the movie with this one.  

I really feel like I gave this a fair shot.  I first read the novel Atonement (written by Ian McEwan) after picking up a copy at Half Price books.  The plot sounded like something I would love (I tend to like darker stories), and it had received so many rave reviews … I had to read it!

I’ll admit that the first third of the book was amazing.  I couldn’t put it down!  And then Robbie goes off to war … And the whole book went downhill.  I was so bored throughout the second part of the novel.  It focused solely on Robbie’s experiences at war, so you’d think it would be thrilling … Or at least interesting.  Nope.  I think it took me over a month just to make it through that section because I had no desire to pick it up and continue reading.  The last section of the book was slightly better, but it was still kind of … Meh.  I did appreciate the ending, but I wasn’t overly impressed with the way McEwan arrived there.

After reading the book, I decided I’d try to watch the movie.  Again, it seemed to have many rave reviews … And I was curious about how a novel with such rich imagery and character development (Ian McEwan is an amazing writer even if I don’t always adore his work) would translate to the screen.

I was pleasantly surprised that the war portions of the novel were significantly reduced in the film … But it still managed to let me down.  I can’t put my finger on what exactly turned me off, but the whole thing just kind of flopped for me.

I know a lot of people enjoyed Atonement (both book and movie), but I’m just not one of them.

If anyone reading this has anything they feel they should like but just don’t, please feel free to comment.  I can’t be the only one!

Leave a Reply

