All The Vowels Vow To Hold Your Name, Keep Your Estate Clean Of Me

As I mentioned in a previous post, I went to Bonnaroo this summer.  (And yes, I realize I still haven’t written anything about it.)  While this post won’t be a discussion of my experience there, the fact that I was there is relevant to today’s topic.

Prior to Bonnaroo I’d never heard of the band alt-J.  They played one of the later shows the first night, and I remember thinking, “This is pretty interesting.  Catchy.  Different.  I really like it.”  

When I got home, I couldn’t get some of the songs out of my head.  I promptly looked them up on Spotify and was quickly hooked.   

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.nme.com.

alt-J, named for the triangle (or delta) symbol that appears when pressing “alt” and “J” on a Mac, is a band comprised of four guys from England.  They fall under the general “indie rock” category, though their sound is an interesting blend of pretty much anything you can think of (folk, hip-hop, trip-hop, electronica, alternative, etc.).

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.bloomberg.com.

Thus far they’ve only released one album, An Awesome Wave.  Each song is unique and interesting, and though the album as a whole isn’t necessarily what I would call “cohesive,” it’s a very promising start.  I can appreciate the fact that they experimented with so many types of musical genres and managed to come up with a fresh, unique sound … Not everyone could pull that off.

There really isn’t a bad song on An Awesome Wave.  There were 3 songs that really stuck with me after Bonnaroo, though: “Tessellate,” “Breezeblocks,” and “Fitzpleasure.”  I’d say these are probably among their more popular songs, but, as I mentioned earlier, the album as a whole is really enjoyable.

I’m looking forward to hearing more from them in the future.  It should be interesting to see how their sound grows and changes over time.

Leave a Reply

