Keep Imagining Meeting, Wished Away Entire Lifetimes

I have a confession to make: I’ve only made the recipe I’m about to share with you one time.

The reason I’ve only made it one time?  I … Have no idea.  It was a little spicy for Eric, but other than that we both thought it was amazing and delicious.  I’m going to toot my own horn for a moment and say that it was probably restaurant quality.  Not like three Michelin star restaurant quality (let’s be real!), but something you’d at least find in a halfway decent Tex-Mex place.

I took this recipe from the blog Cook Like a Champion.  The author of this blog, Courtney, combined two recipes (one from Elly Says Opa and one from Homesick Texan) … And, as I said before, the result was awesome!  I made the enchiladas pretty much exactly as the recipe stated, though I did tweak a few things here and there.  One thing I changed was the amount of chipotle in adobo (I added more), which may have been why they were a little too spicy for Eric.  Then again, he doesn’t have a high threshold for spicy food anyway … So who knows?

I will definitely be making these again in the future.  I will likely cut back on the amount of chipotle in adobo next time, though.  I can always add some extra spice to mine with jalapeño peppers!

Image

Personal photo.

Chipotle Rice and Black Bean Enchiladas

Recipe taken from www.cooklikeachampionblog.com.

Adapted very slightly by me!

Ingredient List:

Chipotle Rice and Black Beans (Filling)

  • 1/2 tbsp canola oil
  • 1/2 onion, diced (I used white onion)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (or the equivalent of jarred, pre-minced garlic if you’re pressed for time)
  • 1 chipotle in adobo, minced (I used 3 and this proved a little too spicy for my fiancé, so adjust according to your preferred level of spiciness)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/3 cup uncooked white rice
  • 2/3 cup water or broth (I used chicken broth)
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1/2 tsp oregano

Instructions:

Chipotle Rice and Black Beans (Filling)

1.) Heat the oil on medium-high heat in a shallow pot or saucepan with a tight-fitting lid.

2.) Add onion to the saucepan and cook until tender.

3.) Stir in the garlic, chipotle in adobo, and bay leaf.  Sauté for 1 to 2 minutes.

4.) Stir in the rice, toasting it until it’s just a little golden.

5.) Add the water (or broth), black beans, and oregano.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

6.) Bring ingredients to a boil, cover, then turn the heat down to low.  Simmer for about 15 minutes.

7.) Remove the saucepan from heat, leaving the lid on.  Allow it to sit for about 5 minutes before fluffing with a fork.

Ingredient List:

Chili Gravy (Sauce)

  • 1/4 cup lard or vegetable oil (I used vegetable oil)
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 1/2 tsp garlic salt (the original recipe calls for both salt and powdered garlic, so I simply combined the two with an ingredient we had on hand)
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano (the recipe calls for Mexican oregano, but I used regular and it tasted just fine)
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 2 cups chicken broth or water (I went with chicken broth again)

Instructions:

Chili Gravy (Sauce)

1.) Heat the oil in a skillet over medium-high heat.

2.) Stir in the flour and continue stirring for 3 to 4 minutes, or until it makes a light brown roux.

3.) Add all dry ingredients and continue to cook for 1 minute, constantly stirring to blend all ingredients.

4.) Add chicken broth (or water), mixing until the sauce thickens.

5.) Turn heat to low and allow sauce to simmer for 15 minutes.  Add water to adjust the thickness.

Ingredient List:

Enchiladas

  • 1 package corn tortillas
  • 1/2 block freshly shredded Pepper Jack cheese (this is what I used, but feel free to play around with other types of cheeses)

Instructions:

Enchilada Assembly

1.) Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

2.) Coat the bottom of a 13×9 baking dish with approximately 1/2 cup of the chili gravy.

3.) Heat corn tortillas.  I heated mine by zapping them for about 30 seconds in the microwave, but you can also heat them over the stovetop.  They just need to be warm enough to be pliable.

4.) Fill each tortilla with chipotle rice and beans, and fold tortilla around filling.

5.) Place tortillas in the baking dish seam side down.  Cover with remaining chili gravy.

6.) Top with freshly shredded Pepper Jack cheese and bake for 15 minutes or until sauce is bubbling and cheese is melted.

7.) Enjoy!  This dish is great on its own, but we had tortilla chips with salsa and guacamole as a “side.”

Leave a Reply

