And You Can Hold Me In Your Sway, I Give Myself Away

Once again, I’m recycling a post from my first wedding-related blogging attempt.  I will likely continue to do so for a while … Sorry I’m such a lazy blogger.  

I promise that one of these days I’ll move on to a topic I didn’t cover in that blog.  Until then, you’ll just have to suffer through my slightly edited/updated posts on Wednesdays.

Today’s post is all about the ring.  It’s a longer post, but hopefully women on the brink of an engagement will find it interesting and informative.  (And hopefully others will enjoy it as well!)

When I was younger and actually allowed myself to consider the possibility of getting engaged and married (trust me, I didn’t seriously think about it much at all), I always imagined that I would be surprised by both the proposal and the ring.  This probably isn’t that surprising, especially when you think about all of the movies, TV shows, books, etc. that feature a man picking out this gorgeous, perfect ring and surprising the love of his life with it.

Well … That’s not real life.  Not for me, anyway.

Something you should know about me: I’m picky.  This is actually an ongoing joke with my coworkers … We’ll be talking about different foods and I say, “Oh, I don’t really like [insert food here].”  They respond with, “Add it to the list!”  Then, after a pause, they’ll add, “But I’m not picky!!!” in an attempt to mock my denial.  Ahem.

So of course when considering something that I will be wearing for the rest of my life, I couldn’t leave it up to chance.  I love Eric.  He’s an extremely intelligent guy and a fantastic partner.  But … He doesn’t know much about jewelry.

Initially, I showed him the picture of the Tacori ring featured in my last Wedding Wednesday post.  A year or so later, I decided to send him several links to rings I liked (all Tacori) in an email so he’d have them to reference on a regular basis if and when he decided he was ready to make a purchase.  After looking through them, he made the following comment: “They all look the same.”

They did not all look the same.

I’ll be completely honest here … I was worried.  I wondered if he’d recognize the specific diamond shapes I was interested in (I was exclusively looking into emerald cut and oval, leaning more toward the emerald cut).  I wondered if he’d at least realize that I wouldn’t want a yellow gold ring (since I never wear yellow gold jewelry).  I wondered if he’d see that I really really had my heart set on a Tacori.  

In September, we talked about going ring shopping together.  We were originally going to go during Labor Day weekend, but for some reason (I can’t even remember what the reason was now) we didn’t.  When we didn’t go, I was disappointed … I thought he’d probably put some more thought into it and realized he wasn’t ready to make that kind of commitment yet.  I resigned myself to the fact that it could be a long while before we actually got engaged.

A couple of weeks later, he brought up ring shopping again without any prompts from me!

I was, of course, giddy with excitement!  I told him I specifically wanted to go to Greenberg’s (the only jeweler in Omaha that is an authorized Tacori retailer).  When we got to the jewelry store, I was starting to feel this weird combination of excitement and nervousness.  I didn’t really know what to expect.  Would I try something on and instantly fall in love with it?  Would I hate everything they had available?  Would they even have the ring I’d been drooling over for over a year?  And, most importantly, were we really going to take this huge step in our relationship?

When we went in, I immediately saw the dark blue Tacori display and went straight for it.  I was actually a little embarrassed (I still have no idea why) when I explained to the salesgirl that we wanted to look at engagement rings.  I specified that I was interested in Tacori and that I’d prefer an emerald cut diamond (though I would also consider ovals).

After the initial awkwardness, things went very smoothly.  She asked what we knew about diamonds (not that much!), and took her time explaining the 4 C’s.  She also handed Eric an iPad to watch an informational video about diamonds after he expressed interest in learning more about the way they were cut, etc.

And then … I was trying on rings.  They were sparkly and gorgeous.  I literally could not pry my eyes off my left ring finger as I put on ring after ring.  I didn’t try on the exact ring I’d been dreaming about, but I did try on something very similar.  And you know what?  It really didn’t suit me at all!  It looked too gaudy on my small hand.

I finally decided on the setting after trying on something similar that was a little too twisty/swirly.  I loved the unique look of the band, but it was a little thick for my finger.  When I mentioned that, I was immediately shown a very similar style that had fewer twists/swirls and a thinner band.  I just felt like it was the right choice.  I can’t explain the feeling I got, but when I put that ring on, I never wanted to take it off!

While we were in the store, we found a loose emerald cut diamond with fantastic specs.  The salesgirl held the diamond above the setting so I could at least get an idea of what the final product would look like.  I was sold.

When Eric and I initially spoke about going ring shopping, I thought we’d probably look at some options so I could see what I liked most in person and he could figure out exactly what to get me … And that would be it.  I never dreamed he’d go ahead and purchase it!

But, as I sat there in a complete state of shock, he made arrangements to finance it.  (I know some people are vehemently against financing engagement rings.  However, at 0% APR, it was just easier to finance it and pay it off before the introductory rate expired.)  He was told he could order it any time within the next 30 days and that it could take up to 8 weeks to receive the ring.  

So, okay, he didn’t officially purchase it that day, but he signed all the financial paperwork, requested that the diamond be held in their vault, etc.  He was going to order that ring!

It was so nerve-wracking waiting for the proposal!  I knew it could be up to 8 weeks after our shopping trip (or even slightly longer, depending on when he actually placed the order), but it was still so hard to be patient.  I couldn’t wait to move to the next stage of our relationship.  I was excited about the prospect of making a more concrete plan to spend the rest of our lives together.  And, let’s be honest, I couldn’t wait to wear that beautiful ring!

You’ve already read about the night of the proposal and seen a sneak peek of the ring.  I will say that when I opened the ring box, it was even more exquisite than I had imagined it would be!  Yes, I basically knew what it would look like … But I hadn’t seen the final product (the setting was originally intended for a round brilliant).  To be honest, I’m really glad that it worked out that way.  I knew I’d be getting the ring I really wanted, but it was also a slight surprise.

And, since you’ve managed to read through this extremely long post (or maybe you just skipped to the pictures, who knows?), I’ll stop with the storytelling and get to the good stuff.

Image

Personal photo.

Image

Personal photo.

Image

My nails were actually painted in this one!  Personal photo.

Image

My pathetic attempt at being “artistic” with my ring pictures.  Personal photo.

I definitely don’t think any of these pictures really does it justice (it’s so sparkly in person!), but they’re all I’ve got.  Well, okay … I have a few more, but they’re almost identical to these.

I love my ring.  More than that, though, I love the man who gave it to me.  He’s amazing, and I can’t wait to call him my husband in a few short months!

Leave a Reply

