They’ll Sting Through Her Chest With A Force Hard And Beating

It’s no secret that I adore Neutral Milk Hotel.  This blog’s title even comes from a line in the song “In the Aeroplane Over the Sea.”  Although they’ve only released two full length albums (the last in 1998), they’ve earned a place as one of my favorite bands.

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.stereogum.com.

Recently they’ve announced a reunion tour.  I’m hoping they’ll release more dates (they’re supposedly going to).  Unfortunately, with so much going on this year, I really can’t take a lot of extra time off to travel a significant distance to see them.  I also can’t really afford to spend a few hundred to a few thousand (depending on location) right now.  (Hey, this wedding isn’t paying for itself!)

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.amazon.com.

NOT SO SECRET NOTE TO JEFF MANGUM AND CO.: (like they’ll ever see this!) Please come to Kansas City!  Or, even better, please come to Omaha!  I promise to sing along to every song!

Ummm … Yeah.  Anyway.

Today’s Music Monday post is going to focus on my favorite Neutral Milk Hotel songs, regardless of album.  As with my previous Elliott Smith XO post, I’ll also be writing out my favorite line(s) … The ones that really mean something to me (or, in a few cases, lyrics that I just find amazing).  A lot of these songs got me through some incredibly difficult times in my life.  Every Neutral Milk Hotel song is beautiful and haunting in its own way, but these are (in my opinion) the best of the best.

In no particular order:

* “In the Aeroplane Over the Sea”

Personal Favorite Line(s): Now we keep where we don’t know/All secrets sleep in winter clothes with one you loved so long ago/Now we don’t even know his name

* “Three Peaches”

Personal Favorite Line(s): On a day that was so crappy, whole and happy you’re alive/And you seem so bruised and it’s beautiful as it’s reflecting off from you as it shines/You’re in the bathroom carving holiday designs into yourself

* “Oh Comely”

Personal Favorite Line(s): The music and medicine you needed for comforting

* “Song Against Sex”

Personal Favorite Line(s): Threw a nickel in a fountain to save my soul from all these troubled times/And all the drugs that I don’t have the guts to take to soothe my mind/So I’m always sober, always aching

* “Holland, 1945”

Personal Favorite Line(s): Now she’s a little boy in Spain playing pianos filled with flames

* “Naomi”

Personal Favorite Line(s): One billion angels could come and save her soul/They could save her soul until she shines

* “Two-Headed Boy”

Personal Favorite Line(s): And in the dark we will take off our clothes and they’ll be placing fingers through the notches in your spine

If anyone reading this is a Neutral Milk Hotel fan, which songs mean the most to you?  Are you lucky enough to be going to one of the reunion shows?  And, if so, can I please come with you?  (I’m kidding.  Sort of.)

Leave a Reply

