Just Remember The First Step In Forgetting Is Destroying All The Evidence

One of my favorite things about cooking is that it gives me an opportunity to constantly challenge myself.  Sometimes challenging myself simply means tweaking a recipe to better suit our tastes.  And sometimes challenging myself means stepping out of my comfort zone.

I love pretty much any type of food.  I’d say that, generally speaking, I’m a pretty adventurous eater.  I absolutely love trying new types of cuisine and trying different items at some of my favorite restaurants.  Yes, I can be kind of picky at times (I should list out all of the foods I hate sometime) … But I can usually find at least one thing I’ll eat in any situation.

Eric and I are huge fans of Thai food.  When the craving hits, we usually call in an order at our favorite Thai place in Omaha, Thai Spice, and enjoy it at home in front of the TV.  

Sometimes, though, I feel like I should be making this stuff at home.  Now I’m not delusional … I know my Thai cooking will never be completely authentic.  I also know that my Thai cooking will never be as good as the food I get at Thai Spice.  But, in the spirit of challenging myself, I want to at least try.

A couple of weeks ago, I did just that.  I found a recipe on Pinterest (and if you read my post last Sunday you know how much I enjoy Pinterest!) that looked both healthy and delicious.  The prep took quite a while, but it’s not difficult … Just a little time consuming.  Thankfully Eric acted as my “sous-chef” (that’s what I always call him when he helps me with dinner), chopping my vegetables and slicing my meat.  He finds chopping very calming … I hate it.  We balance each other out in many areas of our lives, I guess!

Image

Look at that vibrant color!  (Yes, we’re huge Gordon Ramsay fans.)  Personal photo.

This recipe was a definite winner.  While it won’t be completely replacing our nights in with Thai Spice, I plan to start including it in our regular meal rotation.  Eric did think it was a little too spicy, but I thought the level of spice was perfect.  I’ll have to play around with it in the future, though, to try to find a happy medium for us.

Image

Personal photo.

Drunken Noodles

Recipe taken from http://www.atasteofthai.com

Adapted by me!

Ingredient List:

  • 8 oz. wide rice noodles 
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2-3 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (or the equivalent of jarred, pre-minced garlic if you’re pressed for time)
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 2 large tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 2-3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, sliced into thin strips (I used 2, but they were very large)
  • 1 lime 
  • 1/4 cup garlic chili pepper sauce (I used a jar of Lee Kum Kee brand sauce, but I’m sure any brand would work)
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce (I used low sodium)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, firmly packed

Instructions:

1.) Soak noodles according to directions for stir-fry.  The recommended soak time on my package was 25-30 minutes, so allow some time for this step.

2.)  In a medium skillet, heat sesame oil.  Add chicken strips and cook until slightly browned, making sure no pink remains.

3.) In a very large skillet, heat olive oil.  Add garlic and brown lightly.  

4.) Add chopped onions, tomatoes, and red bell pepper; stir fry for 2-3 minutes.

5.) Add cooked chicken to the vegetables.  Allow to simmer for 1-2 minutes.

6.) Add drained rice noodles, stirring to combine.  

7.) Add lime juice, garlic chili pepper sauce, soy sauce, and brown sugar.  Stir continuously to allow flavors to blend evenly.  Cook until noodles are firm but tender (al dente).

8.) Enjoy!  This dish is perfect paired with an ice cold beer.  (Bonus points if it’s from a local brewery!)

Image

 

Personal photo.

Leave a Reply

