Metaphor For A Missing Moment

My last Tasty Tuesday post featured a recipe from the blog Cassie Craves.  I’d say this is actually one of my favorite recipe blogs.  She makes a lot of things that are easy to moderate in difficulty, so they’re perfect for someone who is still learning a lot in the kitchen (someone like me!).  She also makes a lot of pasta dishes, and, as I’ve mentioned before, I love pasta.    

I’ve found so many great recipes on her site, and this week’s dish is no exception.  I’ve only made it a couple of times, but I will definitely continue making it in the future.  Cassie blended two of my favorite things to make this flavorful meal: pasta and Mexican food.  It’s a little spicy, but Eric didn’t complain that it was too hot (always a plus!).  It’s also really creamy and pretty saucy (which is something I enjoy).  So … You should probably just try it right now because it’s good.  Really good.

Image

This is one of those dishes that I just couldn’t get a good picture of.  I know it looks like an absolute mess, but I promise it tastes great!  Personal photo.

Mexican Chicken Stuffed Shells

Recipe taken from http://www.cassiecraves.blogspot.com.

Adapted very slightly by me!

Ingredient List:

  • 1 box jumbo shells
  • 2 cups shredded cooked chicken (I actually took a shortcut with this and used 1 large can of chicken, shredded.  It doesn’t alter the flavor at all in something like this, so if you don’t have any cooked chicken on hand it’s the perfect substitute.)
  • 2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 small white onion, diced, divided
  • 1 4 oz. can diced green chilies, divided
  • 1 10.5 oz. can 98% fat free condensed cream of chicken soup, undiluted
  • 1 cup red salsa (I always use the Herdez medium salsa, but any brand should work.)
  • 2/3 cup milk 
  • Cilantro for garnish

Instructions:

1.) Cook shells according to package directions.

2.) While shells are boiling, combine the chicken, 1 1/2 cups Monterey Jack cheese, sharp cheddar cheese, sour cream, half of the onion, and half of the green chilies in a large mixing bowl.

3.) In a second large mixing bowl, combine the cream of chicken soup, salsa, milk, remaining onion, and remaining green chilies.

4.) Spread 1/2 cup of sauce in a greased 13×9 baking dish.

5.) Drain shells.  Stuff each with a spoonful of the chicken mixture.

6.) Arrange shells over the sauce in the baking dish, and pour remaining sauce over shells to cover.

7.) Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

8.) Uncover dish and sprinkle with the remaining Monterey Jack cheese.  Bake uncovered 10 minutes longer, or until cheese is melted.

9.) Sprinkle with cilantro before serving, and enjoy!  We usually just have a side of chips and salsa with this (if anything).  It’s a very filling dish, so you really don’t need to add much to make it a complete meal.

Leave a Reply

