Lend Me Your Eyes, I Can Change What You See

Prior to my mom’s visit, I set up appointments at four different bridal shops.  

As I mentioned in my last Wedding Wednesday post, I was really anxious about the whole process.  After the first appointment, though, I stopped feeling so nervous and started enjoying the experience.  The consultants I worked with at each shop were very helpful, and none of them seemed to mind when my appointment ran over the allotted time.

I tried on close to 30 wedding gowns (I think the final number was 28).  It sounds like a lot, but it was surprisingly easy to find tons of gorgeous dresses I wanted to try on.  There were so many styles and designers I really liked, so it was very difficult to choose just one.

In the end, I had 3 top contenders.  I would love to share photos and descriptions here, but my fiancé reads my blog … So I’ll have to share those after the wedding.

I will say, though, that I wasn’t sure if I would get that feeling with any dress.  

I did.

At my second appointment, I tried on a gown that I pinned on my “secret board” on Pinterest reserved for my possible wedding attire.  When I picked it out to try it on, my mom was like, “Meh.”  After I put it on (it was the first dress I put on during this appointment), the consultant (who was also the owner of the shop) added a different sash to give it the detail and texture I was looking for.  When I first saw myself in the dress, I couldn’t believe it … I was so happy!  My mom snapped a few pictures on my iPhone, and the first picture shows just how excited I felt.  (Again, I won’t post it now.  After November 9th, I’ll definitely share it.)

I’ll be really honest … I don’t think I’m a pretty girl.  I just don’t.  I feel a little more confident in myself now that I’m older, but I still don’t find myself attractive at all.  I think I have some nice qualities, but I wouldn’t call myself “pretty.”  

But … When I put that dress on and looked in the mirror, I felt beautiful.  I felt like a bride.

When my consultant added some earrings and a headband (which were exactly what I was looking for in terms of wedding day accessories) and I looked at myself in the mirror, I started to cry.  This, of course, made my mom cry as well.  I didn’t want to take that dress off!

After such a strong reaction, most people would have bought the dress immediately.  I didn’t.  I decided to step away from it for a few days, try on some additional dresses, and just think about it.  I didn’t want to make such a big decision based on my emotional response alone.  I thought it probably did mean something … I mean, I had some other strong contenders that I thought looked nice, but I didn’t think about them that much after I tried them on initially.  I didn’t really feel like a bride in them.  And, most importantly, I didn’t feel like maybe I actually looked beautiful. 

I had some reservations about the dress.  My biggest reservation was whether or not Eric would like it.  It was also slightly more expensive than any of the other dresses I was seriously considering.  I didn’t want the decision to come down to money, but it was still something to think about.

I ended up making a follow-up appointment at that bridal shop to try it on again.  I invited my future mother-in-law to come as well to get another opinion.

After that appointment, there was no doubt in my mind that it was the dress.  I even cried again when I put it on!  It’s been about 7 months since I “said yes to the dress,” and I haven’t regretted my decision once.  I’m so glad I didn’t feel that I needed to “settle” for something less expensive because I ended up with something that is absolutely perfect for my personality and style.

As I said, after our wedding I’ll post pictures of some of the dresses that didn’t make the cut and, of course, pictures of the dress.  I can’t wait to wear it in November!

Leave a Reply

