If I’m The Person That You Think I Am

In my last Sunday Lists post, I mentioned a 10 day blogging challenge I found on Pinterest.  While many of the topics are lists, I feel like some are much more personal than others.  I didn’t post the first topic under the Tell All Thursday category (though I easily could have since it was pretty personal).  This time, however, I’ve decided this is the “proper” category.

The second day of the 10 day blogging challenge asks that you share 9 things about yourself.  Easy enough, I suppose.

1.) I wrote my first “novel” (it was more of a novella at a little over 50 pages) when I was 8 years old.  It was about two sisters who were locked in their grandparents’ attic and were magically saved by two handsome princes.  The second half focused on their new lives in the castle.  Yes, I realize how silly that sounds.  But really … I was 8!

2.) I started dying my hair black my senior year of college at the age of 21.  I’d always been jealous of girls with dark hair, so I decided to just go for it.  It looked a lot better than I thought it would, and it’s been black ever since.  I doubt I will ever see my natural hair color (a dark blonde/very light brown) again.

3.) I like really fucked up shit.  The books I read and movies I watch are usually pretty twisted in some way.  I feel like I’ve always liked this kind of stuff … Two of my favorite childhood movies were “Gremlins” and “Beetlejuice.”  While those are tame compared to a lot of the things I enjoy now, they’re still a far cry from Disney princesses and Care Bears.

4.) I often worry that I don’t get taken seriously because I enjoy joking around and having fun (maybe a little too much sometimes).  I am a lot more serious and, dare I say, deep than most people would think, though.

5.) I grew up in a fairly small suburban town outside a small city.  I never felt at home there despite the fact that I lived there most of my life.  I felt like I was very different from most of the people there (with a few exceptions, of course), and didn’t feel like I could really be myself.  I always wanted more than that place could give me, and still sometimes daydream about living in a major city like New York or Seattle.

6.) I have so many guilty pleasures, it’s ridiculous … Especially when it comes to the TV shows I watch.  I love trashy reality shows (Teen Mom, Bridezillas, and Dance Moms are among my favorites).  I also can’t deny my love for the usually over the top teen dramas like Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars.  

7.) I gave up eating chocolate for about 2 years or so.  I was 24 when I stopped eating it.  I made the decision to cut it out of my diet because I had absolutely no self control.  I could seriously sit down with an entire bag of Reese’s miniature peanut butter cups and eat every single one (I wish I were joking).  I randomly started eating it again at a friend’s party in Omaha a couple of years ago or so, and I’ve continued to eat it.  I just don’t eat it every day.  I also don’t eat entire bags of candy anymore.  Maybe I learned some self control?

8.) Going along with #3, I am fascinated by serial killers.  I have tons of books on this topic (both fiction and nonfiction), and this was even the subject of my senior Honors thesis in college.  I think part of the appeal for me is the fact that I just cannot wrap my head around the things these people do … I’m like, “Who would do that?  And why?  And how did they get away with it for so long?”  I have to think I’m not alone in this, though … I mean, look at all of the TV shows, movies, etc. about serial killers.  Obviously others find them interesting as well.

9.) I am almost equally an introvert and extrovert.  It’s kind of weird.  I enjoy a lot of typically introverted activities such as reading and writing, and would be more likely to choose an evening in with a good book or movie to a night out at a wild party.  I’m also pretty extroverted, though, and am comfortable taking on leadership roles, making new friends, and sharing personal stories.  Somehow the two balance each other out, but I’ve always found it odd that I really don’t identify 100% with either.

Leave a Reply

