You Can Go, Each Day Takes You Someplace I Can’t Find … But Don’t Leave My Mind

This is my 50th post on Can’t Believe How Strange It Is To Be Anything At All …  50th!  I can’t believe I’ve already written so much.  I’m actually rather proud of myself for sticking with this.  There have definitely been times that I’ve thought, “Does it even matter if I post today?  Does anyone even read this thing?”  But then I remember the people who have liked posts and the people who stumbled across my blog and thought it was interesting enough to follow (not to mention the fact that my fiancé also reads it pretty regularly and has commented that he enjoys it) … And that makes me want to keep it up.  I love writing, so I’d probably continue blogging even if no one was interested in what I have to say.  But knowing that people are interested makes it more rewarding, and makes me want to push myself to come up with new topics, great recipes, and just generally share more about myself.

So, if you’re reading this now, I want to say thank you.

I’m going to continue my post today with the next list on the 10 day blogging challenge.  Again, this could be a Tell All Thursday post, but I’ve decided to share it today instead.

This week’s list: 8 Ways To Win My Heart

8.) A sense of adventure.  I’m not saying that a guy has to be willing to skydive with me or anything (though that would be cool), but he has to be willing to step outside his comfort zone to try new things.  Eric is definitely this type of guy, and it’s something I have continued to love and appreciate about him over the years.  

7.) A more laid-back personality.  I’m not afraid to admit that I am completely high-strung.  I have issues with anxiety, depression, and OCD.  I’ve had relationships with guys who were similar, and while it was nice that they genuinely understood some of the issues I was dealing with, it made for a completely unbalanced and overly emotional relationship.  I need to be with someone who balances me out.  Eric is one of the most laid-back people I know, and it really helps me calm down a lot of the time!

6.) Strong family ties.  I live far away from my family, but I still consider myself to be very close with them.  I do have some family issues (mainly with my dad and his side of the family, all of whom are no longer part of my life for personal reasons), but overall I’d rank family as one of the most important things to me.  It’s one thing if someone has an awful, abusive family … Of course I wouldn’t want them to subject themselves to that sort of thing.  But if your family is nice, I think it’s great if you’re pretty close with them … Whether that means dinners together once a week, regular talking/texting/emailing … Whatever.  Eric is close with his family, and we both get along well with each others’ families (also important!).

5.) Similar political and social views.  I’ve dated guys in the past with very different views from mine, and that never worked out very well.  It was never something I asked on the first date or anything, but maybe I should have … It’s that important.  I have several friends with different political and social leanings (including a couple of my closest friends), and it’s never been an issue.  But here’s the thing … Friends can agree to disagree and move on.  When you’re in an intimate relationship with someone (and especially if you think you may potentially marry and have children with this person), you should probably be on the same page with most things.  Eric and I will be teaching our future children values and ideas, and we should probably be teaching them the same things.  Yes, they may grow up, think we’re crazy, and change their views.  That’s fine.  But I know the way I was raised has a lot to do with the way I perceive the world now.  

4.) A great sense of humor.  I can be a very goofy person.  I like to try to have fun with things, and some of the best memories I have are the times when I laughed so hard I couldn’t even breathe.  I need someone who can laugh with me.  I’ve definitely had boyfriends who seemed to hate everything.  They’d sigh and bitch about things all the time, and it was extremely frustrating.  I mean, we couldn’t even go out for a meal without Negative Nancy (or perhaps Negative Ned if it’s a guy?) over here having some sort of ridiculous complaint.  Ugh.  Eric has a great sense of humor, and is probably almost as goofy as I am.  We have so much fun together, and it’s nice to think that after we’ve been married for 10 years, 20 years, etc., we’ll probably still be laughing over silly things together.

3.) Ambition.  I don’t mean that a guy must be CEO of a Fortune 500 company or a partner at the biggest law firm in town in order to win me over.  But I expect some level of ambition from a significant other.  I consider myself a very ambitious person.  I’ve hit a few bumps along the way, as I changed my mind about what I actually wanted to do with the rest of my life a few times … But I’ve always wanted to better myself and succeed.  I have ideas about where I’d like to be in my career in the next 3-5 years, as well as in the next 5-10 years.  I’ve set several short term and long term goals for myself, and am working hard to achieve these goals.  Eric is a hard worker, and he is very successful at his current job.  I know he and I are very similar in that we’ve changed our minds about our career paths numerous times … But I also know that because of this, we’ll always support one another in major career decisions and will both work to be successful in our chosen fields.

2.) Intelligence.  I definitely don’t think I’m the most brilliant person in the world (far from it!), but I do know that I’m a smart woman.  I love learning, challenging myself, and having interesting discussions with others.  I think I surround myself with intelligent people because of this.  For example, I feel that my friends always have something new to bring to the table … I often come away from conversations with them feeling as though I’ve learned something new or been challenged to think about something in a different way.  It’s very refreshing.  Eric and I have great conversations as well.  I think we challenge each other to learn more about certain things and to perhaps see things from a new perspective.  I really think this allows us to both grow as individuals and as a couple.

1.) A kind heart.  None of these things even matter if you’re a complete dick.  Seriously.  I think some of these traits can lead a person to become cocky, and that’s just not attractive.  If a man has all of the above qualities and still manages to be generous, loving, loyal, honest, and kind, then he’s the real deal.  I feel incredibly lucky that I’ve managed to find someone who is all of these things (and so much more).  

And, just in case this post wasn’t sappy enough, here’s a random silly picture of Eric and I.  I think it was taken a couple of months or so ago:

Image

 

Cute?  Personal photo.

Leave a Reply

