Miles Away, There’s Hopeless Smiles Brighter Than Mine

I haven’t done a Music Monday post focusing on one specific album for a while, so I thought today would be the perfect time to do that.

The first time I made a post like this, it was my second time posting on this blog, and I focused on my favorite musician of all time, Elliott Smith.  I considered writing about another of his albums today, but decided that I’d focus on another band this time.  (Trust me, you’ll hear more about my love for Elliott Smith as I continue to update my blog!)

Today I’ll be writing about a band that I’ve enjoyed since my younger years (think middle school/high school).  This is a band I’ve always felt was somewhat underrated, though they admittedly enjoyed quite a bit of success early in their career.  The album I’ll be focusing on today I’d also consider to be underrated … I literally have one friend who agrees with me that it’s an amazing piece of work.  It may surprise many of you to learn that I really like this band (and still listen to them pretty regularly).

The band I’m talking about is Silverchair.  If you’re thinking of the trio from Australia who started off with a bang, releasing Frogstomp (which went on to hit #1 in Australia and New Zealand as well as the U.S. top 10) when they were in their early teens, you’re thinking of the right band.

Image

Did I mention they’re also pretty cute?  Because, you know, they are.  Some of my earliest schoolgirl crushes were on these three talented gentlemen.  (They don’t look quite like this anymore, but they’re all still handsome.  This picture is from around the time the album I’m discussing today was released.)  Image courtesy of http://www.100xr.com.

I’m not planning to discuss Frogstomp today, though.  Many people are familiar with a lot of the songs included on that album, and it obviously wasn’t “underrated” at all.  Today I’m writing about their album Diorama, which was released in 2002.

Image

The flash actually made this album cover look really cool.  Personal photo.

As with my post on Elliott Smith’s XO, I wanted to list out my personal favorite tracks from Diorama.  I also wanted to share my favorite lines from each of these songs.  Hopefully this post will inspire you to check this album out if you’re not already familiar with it.

* Tuna In The Brine

Personal Favorite Line(s): The light in my darkest hour is fear/Denies me of anything good/So don’t lose your heart, you’ll need it

* One Way Mule

Personal Favorite Line(s): Distant emotion hides a concrete wall/Naked and anchored, I’ll climb right back to you/And love me for my mind, ’cause I’m a dangerous heart

* My Favourite Thing

Personal Favorite Line(s): You’re my favorite, the one that I love/The one, so I’d die for your love/And I feel like letting go

* The Lever

Personal Favorite Line(s): I’d catch you when you fall, but you’re falling all the time

* Luv Your Life

Personal Favorite Line(s): Flinch against the fire, but this ain’t winter/And I’m all by myself, the way I want to be/Where I’m content to be, to be all by myself/And frozen eyes are bound to melt

This really is an overall gorgeous album.  Daniel Johns has an amazingly beautiful voice, one I’m still in awe of years after I first heard it.  I literally get chills every time I hear him sing the repeated line “And I feel like letting go” in “My Favourite Thing.”

This brings me to my final note on Diorama … The album liner notes read as follows (which I found really interesting):

“Diorama” was made without using pitch correction software.  This technology ‘corrects’ notes that are sung or played out of tune and it has become increasingly popular in recent years.  Silverchair choose not to use this computer software on their albums as it’s their personal belief that such artificial perfection diminishes music.

Leave a Reply

