Give Me An Hour And I’ll Give You Your Dreams

This week’s recipe came from the website Taste of Home.  This is one of my favorite online recipe resources because they literally have hundreds to thousands of recipes for whatever keyword you search.

Eric and I bought a bunch of tilapia fillets at Costco fairly recently.  We divided them up into separate freezer bags and then put them aside for future meals.  Since we had so much tilapia on hand, I started searching for recipes we could use it in.  I came across this recipe, and it sounded perfect.  We already had most of the ingredients anyway, so that made it sound even more appealing!

photo copy

This is a “before” picture.  I thought it actually looked kind of nice, so I took a quick picture before shoving it in the oven.  Personal photo.

Tilapia Florentine

Recipe taken from Taste of Home (www.tasteofhome.com)

Adapted by me!

Ingredient List:

  • Approximately 6 oz. fresh baby spinach
  • 6 tsp olive oil, divided
  • 4 tilapia fillets, approximately 4 oz. each
  • 1 lemon (I actually completely forgot to add the lemon juice this time and it was fine.  I will definitely try adding it next time, though, to add some additional flavor.)
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 tsp Mrs. Dash Original Blend seasoning
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup low fat ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

Instructions:

1.) In a large nonstick skillet, cook fresh spinach in approximately 4 tsp olive oil until wilted; drain.

2.) Place tilapia fillets in a greased 13×9 baking dish.

3.) Drizzle fillets with lemon juice (a step I forgot this time!), and approximately 2 tsp olive oil.

4.) In a small mixing bowl, combine the egg, ricotta cheese, and spinach.  Sprinkle with garlic salt and Mrs. Dash Original Blend seasoning, and mix thoroughly.

5.) Spoon cheese, egg, and seasoning mixture over the fillets.  You should be able to spread about the same amount on each fillet.

6.) Bake at 375 degrees for 15-20 minutes, or until fish flakes easily with a fork.

7.) Enjoy!  I served this with a side of cooked carrots (seasoned with a little dill and garlic salt) and what I call Parmesan Pea Rice Medley (I definitely made that name up, and I’m sure you can tell).  I’ll be sharing the recipe for this dish next week, so stay tuned for that!

photo

The finished product!  It was delicious.  Personal photo.

Leave a Reply

