My Friends All Say They’re Worried, I’m Looking Far Too Skinny … I’ve Stopped Returning All Their Calls

I don’t know if you know this about me, but I love music.  I love the fact that a song can bring you back to a specific point in time, remind you of someone, make you feel like someone really “gets” you (and what you’re going through), or even just make you want to dance.  

Today’s Music Monday post is going to focus on an emotion I think most people can relate to: heartbreak.

I’m currently very happy with my love life.  I’m getting married in a little over 2 months to a wonderful, handsome, funny, intelligent, kind-hearted man.  However, I wasn’t always perfectly content with my love life.  In fact, there were plenty of times when I was completely devastated over the way things ended between myself and someone else (whether they ended it or I did).  

I’ll share something personal with you now: I’ve had 3 very serious relationships in my life (along with several more casual ones).  Obviously I’m still with one of the men I’ve had a serious relationship with.  Interestingly (or maybe not, depending on how you look at it), the other two serious relationships both ended in September.  I don’t really know why I remember that, but I do.

Anyway, after a breakup, I always turned to the music I loved.  While all of these songs aren’t explicitly about love gone bad, they really resonated with me when I was dealing with a broken heart.  (I should also note that I still listen to all of these songs on a regular basis because they’re still awesome!)  Today I’ll share the top 20 songs that got me through those tough times.  

20.) Something I Can Never Have – Nine Inch Nails

19.) Cup of Coffee – Garbage

18.) Passive – A Perfect Circle

17.) Raining in Baltimore – Counting Crows

16.) Everybody Hurts – R.E.M.

15.) Black – Pearl Jam

14.) Map of the Problematique – Muse

13.) Lust a Prima Vista – The Spill Canvas

12.) C’mere – Interpol

11.) Fake Plastic Trees – Radiohead

10.) Oh Comely – Neutral Milk Hotel

9.) Brothers on a Hotel Bed – Death Cab for Cutie

8.) Rough Hands – Alexisonfire

7.) The Engine Driver – The Decemberists

6.) The Walk – Imogen Heap

5.) Doughnut Song – Tori Amos

4.) Lua – Bright Eyes

3.) Oh Well – Fiona Apple

2.) Day Old Hate – City and Colour

1.) I Didn’t Understand – Elliott Smith

Leave a Reply

