There Was Nothing To Fear And Nothing To Doubt

As many of you who read this may know, the newest Arctic Monkeys record, AM, was released last Tuesday in the United States.  After hearing the amazingly catchy (and surprisingly relatable) single “Do I Wanna Know?” numerous times on two of my favorite Sirius XM radio stations (Sirius XM U and Alt Nation) all summer long, I was pretty pumped to hear the album in its entirety.

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.nme.com.

Let me start by saying that I had never listened to the Arctic Monkeys until this summer.  They were one of those bands that were constantly recommended to me based on other music I like, but I’d never taken the time to listen to them.  I don’t know why.  I wish I had before now, but better late than never I suppose.

After falling in love with “Do I Wanna Know?,” I started actively seeking out more of their music.  Although I wouldn’t call myself an expert on the band, I feel that I’m familiar enough with their previous work to accurately review their most recent effort.

If you’ve read or heard anything about this album already, I’m going to go ahead and say that I completely agree with the majority of reviews.  AM is a solid record from start to finish.  The band’s sound is much more polished and mature this time around without giving up any of the raw energy they brought to each of their previous albums.

The songs all have this dark aura about them … I’ve been referring to it as “dirty, sexy indie rock.”  And although I wouldn’t say AM is a completely perfect album, as a whole it’s a compelling piece of work.  I can listen to it on repeat without getting bored (and that’s saying a lot!).  My personal favorite tracks (not including my obvious favorite, “Do I Wanna Know?,” which is track 1 on AM) include “R U Mine?” (track 2), “Arabella” (track 4), and “One for the Road” (track 3).  

After listening to AM a few times through and comparing it with the band’s earlier work, I’m excited to see what they produce in the future.  I’m also proud to call myself an Arctic Monkeys fan.

Image

 

Image courtesy of hypetrak.com.

Leave a Reply

