At This Moment From Where I Sit, None Of It Seems Real

I’m pleased to announce that this week’s Tasty Tuesday post features another original recipe!  If you’ve been checking out the recipes I’ve shared so far, you’ve probably seen a pattern … I really like pasta and I really like Mexican/Tex-Mex flavors.  It’s only natural, then, that I’d come up with a recipe that combines those two things.

Image

Despite terrible lighting, this dish still looks delicious (and tastes just as good!).  Personal photo.

This pasta is a perfect blend of creamy, tangy, and spicy.  It’s a great vegetarian meal, but you could definitely add chicken or shredded beef if you prefer your pasta a little meatier.

Tex-Mex Black Bean Pasta

A Can’t Believe How Strange It Is To Be Anything At All … original recipe

Ingredient List:

  • 1 13.25 oz. box pasta (I used Barilla whole grain penne, but any short pasta would work in this recipe.)
  • 1 15.5 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 4 oz. can diced green chilies
  • 1 to 1 1/3 cup sour cream (Choose the amount of sour cream based on how saucy/creamy/tangy you want your pasta.  I like mine very saucy/creamy/tangy, so I added 1 1/3 cup.  You may also use regular or low fat sour cream in this recipe.)
  • 1/2 cup red salsa (I used my preferred salsa, Herdez Casera Medium.)
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp chili powder (Choose the amount of chili powder based on how spicy you want your pasta.  I love spicy food and I made this for myself when Eric was working, so I added 1 tsp.  If I were making this for both of us, I’d use less.)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • Cilantro for garnish

Instructions:

1.) Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.

2.) Combine black beans, green chilies, red salsa, black pepper, crushed red pepper flakes, garlic salt, chili powder, and cumin in a medium saucepan; simmer for 8-10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

3.) While sauce is simmering, cook pasta in the boiling water until al dente, according to package instructions.

4.) After sauce has simmered for 8-10 minutes, stir in Monterey Jack cheese and sharp cheddar cheese until melted.  Add sour cream and mix thoroughly until sauce is thick and warmed through.

5.) Drain pasta and return contents to pot.  Add sauce to the pot of pasta; toss to coat.  Garnish with cilantro.

6.) Enjoy!  This dish is great paired with a fresh green salad.

Leave a Reply

