A Pretty Face, A Vague Idea I Can’t Relate

I didn’t receive any feedback (positive or negative) when I last posted one of my poems.  I’m not sure whether that’s a good or bad thing, though I do understand that many times people just don’t feel compelled to comment or even “like” a blog post … I’m often guilty of this even when I really enjoyed what I read.  

That being said, I wasn’t sure when (or even if) I should post another piece of my writing.  Some people are very comfortable sharing their work … I’m not one of those people.  Because my poetry is so personal, it’s a little scary to put it out there for others to see.  For me, it’s almost like handing out photocopies of the pages in my personal journal.

However, part of what I hoped to accomplish by starting and maintaining a blog was to become more comfortable sharing my writing with others … And that includes my poetry.  I know poetry isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, so please feel free to skim over these posts (or skip them altogether) if you’re not into that sort of thing.  But if you are, I hope you enjoy the pieces I share.  

“Lose Ourselves Tonight”

Written on 01-21-2006

There’s a place in this town where all my ghosts like to go

Swapping tales of anguish and the wars they fought long ago

They bring it all to the surface for everyone to see

Making their living by sharing every shattered piece of me

Close your eyes … Drown the pain away

Living in the dream that there will be better days

Close your eyes … Forget every whispered word

Some things were never meant to be heard

Close your eyes and hold on tight

We’re going to lose ourselves tonight

There’s a place in your dreams where I love to sleep

Lying amidst the pillows of thought, praying I’m the one you keep

I lock myself in your most beautiful reality

Clinging to the places you’ll never wish to leave

Close your eyes … Drown the pain away

Living in the dream that there will be better days

Close your eyes … Forget every whispered word

Some things were never meant to be heard

Close your eyes and hold on tight

We’re going to lose ourselves tonight

Walking alone through these streets at night

Knowing deep inside that this could never be right

I just let my ghosts march on to their next fight

As I wander toward the warmth of your light

There’s a place in my heart that will never let this fade

The pain of my ghosts and the love that was somehow overplayed

And I close my eyes to sink deep into the memories

Of everything I’d said, everywhere I’d been, and everything I’d wished I could be

Close your eyes … Drown the pain away

Living in the dream that there will be better days

Close your eyes … Forget every whispered word

Some things were never meant to be heard

Close your eyes and hold on tight

We’re going to lose ourselves tonight

Leave a Reply

