I Bet You Could Never Tell That I Knew You Didn’t Know Me That Well

Today’s Music Monday post will focus on an album by one of my favorite artists, the amazingly talented and beautiful Fiona Apple.

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.stereogum.com.

It was difficult for me to choose just one of her albums to feature today.  Although she’s only released 4 albums in her 17 year career (I can hardly believe Tidal was released back in 1996!  Holy shit, I feel old.), she’s a perfect example of an artist who prefers quality over quantity.  Each of her albums has a slightly different feel, though they all focus primarily on the theme of love gone wrong.  And the lyrics?  Truly amazing.  I could only dream of writing poetry/song lyrics as beautifully as she does.

As I just mentioned, it was incredibly difficult for me to choose just one of her albums to write about.  After much deliberation, I decided to focus this entry on an album that really helped me get through some of my darkest days … The times when my struggle with depression seemed so overwhelming that I wanted nothing more than to just give up.  This album is inspiring and gorgeous … Well worth the 6 year wait.  

The album I’m talking about is Extraordinary Machine.

Image

Personal photo.

As with my previous posts highlighting a specific album (not including reviews, of course), I will be listing out my personal favorite songs along with my favorite line(s) from those songs.  It was honestly very difficult for me to narrow down my 5 favorites from this album because, to be perfectly honest, this is an incredibly strong album from start to finish.  I rarely if ever skip over songs when listen to Extraordinary Machine … It’s just that good.

* O’ Sailor

Personal Favorite Line(s): Everything good I deem too good to be true/Everything else is just a bore/Everything I have to look forward to has a pretty painful and very imposing before

* Oh Well

Personal Favorite Line(s): And when it counts you recoil with a cryptic word and leave a love belittled

* Tymps (The Sick In The Head Song)

Personal Favorite Line(s): So why did I kiss him so hard late last Friday night, and keep on letting him change all my plans/I’m either so sick in the head, I need to be bled dry to quit/Or I just really used to love him/I sure hope that’s it

* Get Him Back

Personal Favorite Line(s): But the last one I had who was getting my hopes up, I might’ve been a little fast to dismiss/I think he let me down when he didn’t disappoint me/He didn’t always guess right but he usually got my gist

* Window

Personal Favorite Line(s): So again, I done the right thing/I was never worried about that/The answer’s always been in clear view

If you’ve never listened to this album, I strongly urge you to pick it up.  If you’re a fan of Fiona Apple, what are your thoughts on Extraordinary Machine?  Which songs really stand out to you?

Leave a Reply

