But I Would Rather Be Alone Than Pretend I Feel Alright

I haven’t posted any breakfast recipes yet, which is actually kind of weird.  Breakfast/brunch food is one of my favorites!  I guess in reality I don’t make it at home very often, though … We usually either go out for breakfast/brunch or Eric makes it.  He’s the only one of us who can make a perfect over easy egg and hashbrowns that are perfectly crispy and golden.

I do occasionally attempt a breakfast recipe, though.  A few weeks ago, I decided I’d be somewhat healthy and try an oatmeal recipe.  Unfortunately, my idea of “healthy” oatmeal includes Nutella.  But seriously … How can you possibly go wrong with Nutella?  (The flavor is actually pretty subtle in this oatmeal, but it’s definitely there!)

Image

Personal photo. 

This recipe as written makes quite a bit of oatmeal, so make sure you’re either really hungry or planning to serve it to someone else as well.  Otherwise, I’d cut the ingredients in half.

Nutella Banana Oatmeal

Recipe taken from Baking and Boys! (www.bakingandboys.com)

Adapted very slightly by me!

Ingredient List:

  • 1 cup oats 
  • 1 3/4 cup milk (I used 1%, but the original recipe calls for skim milk.)
  • 1 banana (You’ll want to cut the banana in half.  One half of the banana should be chopped into fairly small pieces.  The other half should be sliced to use as a topping.)
  • 2 tbsp Nutella chocolate hazelnut spread

Instructions:

1.) Over medium heat in a small saucepan, combine oats, milk, chopped banana, and Nutella; mix well, stirring occasionally.

2.) As the oat mixture comes to a boil, stir constantly for 1-2 minutes or until thickened.

3.) Spoon out desired amount of oatmeal and sprinkle with sliced banana.

4.) Enjoy!  This is a very filling breakfast, so I just paired it with a cup of coffee.

One thought on “But I Would Rather Be Alone Than Pretend I Feel Alright

Leave a Reply

