We’re Not The Kids That We Once Were … We Can’t Be The Adults We Want To Be

On Saturday I decided to try a new recipe.  I stumbled across it when I was looking for inspiration for some new meals online, and thought it sounded pretty good.  What I didn’t know was that it was going to be amazing.

I had fairly high hopes for this meal because, as you may have learned from my blog thus far, I love Mexican and Tex-Mex flavors.  So obviously a recipe for chicken enchiladas sounded good to me.  But I wasn’t sure if these enchiladas would blow me away … I mean, chicken enchiladas are chicken enchiladas, right?  Wrong!  These were some of the best enchiladas I’ve ever made (like restaurant quality, if I do say so myself)!  And the best part?  They were easy to make.

These will definitely be added into the regular rotation on our menu.  They were a big hit!  Please try them immediately … You won’t regret it!

Chicken Enchiladas with Green Chile Sour Cream Sauce

Recipe taken from Taste and Tell (www.tasteandtellblog.com)

Adapted by me!

Ingredient List:

Shredded Chicken (Filling)

  • 3 frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I used 2 large and 1 medium, and that was the perfect amount for the filling.)
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 tsp cilantro
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Instructions:

Shredded Chicken (Filling)

1.) Place frozen chicken, water, and all seasonings in a crockpot and cover.

2.) Allow the chicken to cook for 6-8 hours on low or 3-4 hours on high.

3.) After cooking, remove the chicken from the crockpot and place on a cutting board.

4.) Shred the chicken with two forks (it should be tender enough that it pretty much falls apart).

photo 1

The chicken was both tender and moist, so you definitely don’t need to worry that it will dry out!  Personal photo.

Ingredient List:

Enchiladas

Instructions:

Enchilada Assembly

1.) Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

2.) Spray a 9×13 inch pan with cooking spray.

3.) Warm the tortillas in the microwave (I zapped mine for 30 seconds) to make them more pliable.

4.) Place a tortilla on a plate and fill with some of the cooked shredded chicken and some of the shredded cheese.

photo 2

I put quite a bit of filling in each tortilla, as you can see here.  Personal photo.

5.) Roll the tortilla around the filling and place seam side down in the 9×13 inch pan.  Repeat steps 4 and 5 until you’ve used all of your tortillas, taking care to place an equal amount of filling in each tortilla.

photo 3

These are my naked filled tortillas.  Now they just need some of that delicious sauce!  Personal photo.

Ingredient List:

Green Chile Sour Cream Sauce

  • 3 tbsp butter (I used light margarine, and it worked well.)
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1 can chicken broth
  • 1 cup sour cream (I used Daisy light sour cream to try to lighten it up a bit, and it worked well.)
  • 2 4 oz. cans diced green chilies

Instructions:

Green Chile Sour Cream Sauce

1.) Melt the butter in a small pan.

2.) Stir in the flour and cook for approximately 1 minute.

3.) Whisk in the chicken broth, and cook over medium heat until thickened.  I whisked the sauce constantly to make sure it was perfectly smooth.

4.) Stir in sour cream and green chilies, then pour the sauce over the enchiladas.

5.) Sprinkle with the remaining cheese.

photo 4

Before going into the oven!  Personal photo.

6.) Bake enchiladas in the preheated oven for 20-25 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and bubbly.

7.) Enjoy!  I served these enchiladas with a side of refried black beans (I used a little chili powder, cumin, garlic salt, and cilantro to give the beans more flavor).  I also added a side of rice.  I used white basmati rice and added some cilantro to the water while the rice cooked.  After the rice was done, I added about 1/3 cup or so of salsa verde (I used Herdez, as that’s our favorite brand) to give it a little more flavor.

photo 5

These look, smell, and taste fantastic!  When I took my first bite, my immediate thought was, “I can’t wait to share this on my blog!”  Personal photo.

Leave a Reply

