My Feet Ever Slow With The Age That Takes Me … I’ll Slip Out To The Mountains Where Nobody Knows Me

I can’t believe I still haven’t covered one of the most important parts of the whole wedding planning process: selecting the wedding party!

Image

I found this picture online, and I think it’s so adorable.  Image courtesy of http://www.bridalguide.com.

I think part of the reason I haven’t discussed this yet is because it wasn’t a huge ordeal for us.  You hear so many horror stories about the drama that ensues when one friend is chosen for the wedding party while another is left out … Or stories about people who feel pressure from their parents to put their siblings in the wedding party (whether they get along or not) … Or even stories about people who start off best friends and then grow to hate one another because the stress of the wedding turns them into crazy bitches (or crazy assholes, if we’re talking about guys).

Thankfully, none of that drama existed for us.  Well, for the most part.

I’m going to share something with you now.  As I’ve mentioned before, I didn’t really think that I would ever get married.  However, in the back of my mind I always knew that if I did get married, I’d want my bridal party to consist of my three childhood best friends and my younger cousin.

Unfortunately, as we grew older some things changed.  Two of my childhood best friends are still my best friends … Although we all live in different states and don’t talk all the time, we keep each other up to date on all of the important stuff and find time to talk and see each other when we can.  I’m also still very close with my cousin (I was a bridesmaid in her wedding last month).  My other childhood best friend has basically fallen off the face of the earth.  We’re still Facebook friends, but what does that even mean?  Every time I (or the other two) have tried to reach out to her over the past few years, we either hear nothing or get a vague, “Sorry I’ve been busy!” text or Facebook message with no follow up. 

It honestly breaks my heart that she won’t be a part of this wedding (Eric and I decided it would be best to not even invite her based on the way she’s distanced herself over the years).  Growing up, we shared so many secrets, helped each other through tons of breakups and other heartaches, gave each other advice, and had so much fun together … And now I feel like I don’t even know who she is.  I know this happens a lot as people grow up, but it doesn’t make it any easier.

Despite the sadness I feel over that situation, I am very happy that I’ll have the three people who have always been a huge part of my life standing next to me on my wedding day.  

As for Eric, he really didn’t have any sort of drama at all.  He’s very close with his two brothers, so there was no question that they’d be involved.  He also has two close friends from high school that he still spends a lot of time with, so he wanted to include them as well.  They’re all good guys, so I’m also glad they’ll be standing next to him on our wedding day.

So here you have it: 

Bridal Party:

  • Man of Honor (Yes, you read that correctly!): Kevin, my best friend (definitely my closest friend as well) of around 18 years
  • Bridesmaid: Allison, my other best friend of around 23 years (Wow, we’re old!)
  • Bridesmaid: Lauren, my younger cousin who is more like a sister to me

Groomsmen:

  • Best Man: Tony, Eric’s older brother
  • Best Man: Jake, Eric’s younger brother
  • Groomsman: Russ, Eric’s close friend from high school
  • Groomsman: Todd, another of Eric’s close friends from high school

Our wedding party is a little lopsided since I have 3 and he has 4, but that’s okay.  I think the most important thing is that everyone involved is important to us.  They’ve shared good and bad times with us, and have continued to love and support us throughout the years.  Those are definitely the kind of people you want in your wedding party!

Leave a Reply

