There’s An Old Voice In My Head That’s Holding Me Back

This evening I sat down with my laptop with every intention of coming up with an interesting blog post … And nothing.  My brain feels like mush.  I’m exhausted and have about a million things on my mind … And apparently none of them are blog post ideas.  Awesome.

I decided to turn to Google for some help, and stumbled upon this “I Statements” idea.  I actually did something very similar during one of my volunteer meetings (we’ll often try out creative activities that we could potentially try with patients), and I remember being somewhat surprised at what I came up with.

The basic idea here is that you’re given several prompts beginning with “I …” (the original prompts are in bold).  Then, without putting too much thought into it, you’re supposed to finish the sentence.  It’s not the most interesting thing I could write about, but it’s all I’ve got right now.  Sorry.

I was a very difficult child.  My mom still has self help books for mothers of “strong-willed” children on her bookshelves.  I’m an only child, so she definitely had me in mind when she bought those.

I am overwhelmed at the prospect of getting married.  The wedding itself is causing me the most anxiety, but it’s really weird to think that I’ll be a “Mrs.” in less than a month.

I think in pictures.  It’s strange, considering the fact that I love to write … You’d think I’d see words.  But there is literally an ongoing “movie” in my mind of memories, random thoughts, hopes for the future, etc.

I wonder a lot about things that are considered “unknown.”  I’m especially interested in black holes.  I’ve always wondered what exactly would happen if you were pulled into one, but I’ll just have to use my imagination (and consider the theories that are currently out there) since there’s no way to ever know for sure.

I wish I’d done a lot of things differently in my life.  If you’re interested in reading more about some of my biggest regrets, you can check it out here: https://cantbelievehowstrangeitis.wordpress.com/2013/09/05/1102/.

I save a lot of useless shit.  I’m always afraid to get rid of things because I’m so sure I’ll need them later.

I always worry.  I will literally worry about anything and everything.  It’s pretty ridiculous.

I can’t imagine staying in my hometown forever.  I know a lot of people never leave the town or city they grew up in, but that was never something I wanted to do.

I believe that trying new things and stepping outside of your comfort zone is incredibly important.

Leave a Reply

