The Photograph Reflects, Every Streetlight A Reminder

I’ve mentioned several times that I currently live in Omaha, Nebraska.  I’ve been living here for a little over 4 years now, and I really like the city and people I’ve met.

That being said, I love to travel.  Many times when I go to other cities I think, “It’s a great place to visit, but I’d never want to live here.”  However, there have been several places I’ve visited that made me think, “It would be so amazing to live here.”  

Eric and I are both pretty open to moving elsewhere in the future, though the circumstances would have to be right (for example, finding job opportunities we just couldn’t turn down).  He and I have talked about places we might consider living, and although our lists of “dream locations” are slightly different, we’re usually on the same page.  

This week’s list: The Top Seven Places I’d Most Want To Live (That I’ve Actually Been To!)

7.) Baltimore, Maryland

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.concierge.com.

Honestly, if Eric and I lived in this area, we’d probably live in the suburbs.  I love cities, but Baltimore isn’t exactly the safest place.  (It’s been noted that the city’s level of violent crime is much higher than the national average.)  The thing I love about Baltimore, though, is that it’s a beautiful city (the Inner Harbor is an especially gorgeous area, as you can see from the picture above), and it’s much closer to many of my friends and family.  It’s actually kind of the perfect location since it’s also pretty close to many other cool cities.  I could definitely also get used to eating tons of fresh seafood.  I’ve only visited the city a couple of times, but each time I had some of the best seafood I’ve ever eaten.  

6.) Chicago, Illinois

Image

Image courtesy of yochicago.com.

I’ll be honest … I’ve only been to Chicago once with Eric about 5 years ago.  It was a short visit, but it left me wanting to experience more of the city.  It’s one of those places that you could visit many times and still find new things to try and see.  That’s the kind of place I’ve always wanted to live in.  We would definitely need high paying jobs to live the way we’d want to, but if the circumstances were right, I think we’d really enjoy living there.

5.) Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Image

Image courtesy of archpaper.com.

I’ve been to Philadelphia several times, but I always think of it as being a special place because it was the first trip Eric and I took together when we started dating.  We’d been together for only a little over 5 months when we took this trip.

Image

I wish I had pictures of us (or me, if Eric wasn’t there) in all of these locations saved on my computer, but unfortunately I don’t (and I’m way too lazy to search for them on various thumb drives).  How adorable were we, though?  Ahh … Young love.  (Funny, considering we don’t really look much different nearly 6 years later.)  Personal photo.

Although I’m not a history buff, I do really appreciate the historical significance of so many places in this city.  There are also tons of cool places to visit (including my personal favorite, the Philadelphia Museum of Art).  This is definitely a city Eric and I both love.

4.) San Francisco, California

Image

Image courtesy of en.wikipedia.org.

I’ve been to San Francisco a couple of times, and I love this city.  Gorgeous area?  Check.  Lots of things to do and see?  Check.  Interesting history?  Check.  Perfect climate?  Check.  Delicious fresh seafood?  Check.  There are just so many things to appreciate about this city!  The only downfall (in my opinion) is the cost of living … It’s absolutely ridiculous!  However, if Eric and I could somehow both find amazing jobs with amazing pay in that area, I’d move in a heartbeat.

3.) Seattle, Washington

Image

Image courtesy of tiger.towson.edu.

I’ve only been to Seattle once.  I visited with two of my close girlfriends from Omaha last year, and we had a blast.  I’d always wanted to visit Seattle, but for some reason I never had the opportunity.  Since my trip, though, I’ve wanted to go back with Eric.  This is another gorgeous place with lots of things to do and see, a perfect climate (in my opinion at least), and lots of delicious fresh seafood available.  It’s also the birthplace of many of my favorite bands and the record label Sub Pop (which has, at one point or another, been associated with quite a few of my favorite musicians).  Such a cool city!

2.) Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.culut.com.

This is another city I’ve only been to once, but I immediately fell in love with it.  I haven’t been to Europe (yet), but several areas in Montreal reminded me of the pictures I’ve seen of European cities.  Eric and I visited in December 2010 for an Alexisonfire concert (which was definitely the highlight of the trip for me!), but we spent several days there exploring the city.  Maybe it was because it was snowy and decorated for Christmas, but everything about Montreal seemed absolutely magical.  If I could speak French fluently, I would most definitely be searching for job opportunities there!

1.) New York, New York

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.homedsgn.com.

New York City is kind of hit or miss for a lot of people.  I know plenty of people who love it, and plenty of people who hate it.  Yes, it’s always crowded and often dirty … But there’s something about it that I have loved ever since I first visited many years ago.  I’ve been to New York countless times (I literally used to visit at least once a year, sometimes more often), and I still haven’t seen and done everything.  I can’t really explain the way I feel when I’m there … But it’s an amazing feeling.  I used to dream of living there when I was a little girl, and, if I’m being completely honest with myself, if I had the opportunity to move there now, I’d do it.

Leave a Reply

