I’m Overflowing With Ambition

Wow, I can’t believe this is my 100th post!  I didn’t start this blog that long ago, though I guess it’s pretty easy to get 100 posts in a few months when you make it a point to post every day.  I’m proud of myself for actually keeping up with this, though.  Hopefully in a few more months I’ll be posting about how crazy it is that I’m making my 200th post.

Anyway …

I mentioned last week that each of my Music Monday posts during the month of October will be Elliott Smith related.

This week I’ll be discussing my all-time favorite song (which just happens to be an Elliott Smith song), and what it means to me.

My absolute favorite song of all time is “Junk Bond Trader” by Elliott Smith.  (This was probably fairly obvious based on my WordPress username.)  I got into Elliott Smith’s music a little later in my life at the ripe old age of 21.  I was a senior in college, and, as I’ve mentioned in other posts, that was a very difficult year for me.  I’ve always struggled with anxiety and depression, but that year was awful.

As a music lover, I of course turned to music for comfort.  Although I mostly stuck with old favorites, I also started looking for other bands and artists I hadn’t listened to previously.  Elliott Smith was one of those artists.  From the moment I first heard his music, I knew I’d found something really special … This was music I could really relate to.

The first time I heard “Junk Bond Trader,” I remember feeling as though someone really understood me.  Yes, Elliott Smith had already passed away by that time, but still … It was almost as though someone had reached into the most private parts of my heart and mind and put it all out there for everyone to see (or, I guess, hear).

I quickly adopted my “life motto” (if you want to call it that) from this song.  These lines fit perfectly with the way I felt at 21 (and have remained incredibly meaningful to me throughout the years):

“I won’t take your medicine, I don’t need a remedy to be everything I’m supposed to be.  I don’t want nobody else, I can do it by myself.  We’re meant to be together.”

I’m very seriously considering having these lyrics tattooed somewhere on my body with an Elliott Smith related image.  (I’m about 99.99% sure this will happen at some point within the next couple of years!)

It’s really difficult to adequately explain just how important this song has been to me over the years.  I will say, though, that if I could recommend just one Elliott Smith song to listen to, it would most definitely be “Junk Bond Trader.”  Yes, I’m completely biased … But it’s so amazing.  Please listen to it immediately (and feel free to leave a comment regarding your thoughts)!

One thought on “I’m Overflowing With Ambition

  1. Pingback: Hearts And Thoughts They Fade, Fade Away | Can't Believe How Strange It Is To Be Anything At All ...

Leave a Reply

