Keep In Mind As You Remember All The Answers You Walked Right Through

The recipe I’ll be sharing with you today is something I found while browsing Pinterest.  For a while, it seemed to pop up literally every time I did a general “Food/Drink” search.  After seeing it several times, I decided to at least check out the link to determine whether or not it would be worth trying.

Well, it was definitely worth trying.  This recipe is insanely simple, but the flavors are great.  As an added bonus, it’s pretty healthy.  I’ve been actively trying to drop a lot of weight, so I’ve been trying to find recipes that will be delicious yet healthy.  This definitely fits the bill!

The recipe is listed as “Famous Salmon” on Pinterest.  I’m not sure why it’s famous (or if it even really is), but that’s what it’s called.  For my purposes, I’m going to call it something else.  But if you’re interested in viewing the original recipe or finding it on Pinterest, you’ll have to search for “Famous Salmon.”  Sorry to complicate things for you.

Regardless of what you call it, this recipe is really good.  If you like salmon even a little, it’s worth a try.  (Unless of course you hate capers.  I know some people hate capers, and the flavor is pretty strong in this particular recipe.)

Baked Salmon with Lemon Garlic Caper Sauce

Recipe taken from Big Girl Life (heatherserody.com)

Adapted very slightly by me!

Ingredient List:

  • Salmon fillets (I used 2 fillets that were approximately 1 lb each.)
  • 1 lemon
  • 3 tbsp olive oil (The original recipe states that you shouldn’t use extra virgin olive oil.  Unfortunately, that’s all we keep on hand, so I tried it anyway.  I don’t have anything to compare it to, but it seemed to work just fine.)
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced (or the equivalent of jarred, pre-minced garlic if you’re pressed for time)
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried dill
  • 3 tbsp capers (I usually add a little caper juice as well, but Eric and I both really like the flavor.)

Instructions:

1.) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2.) Combine lemon juice, olive oil, dijon mustard, garlic, capers, and all spices in a small saucepan.

3.) Bring to a boil over medium heat, then reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes.

photo copy

Your sauce should look something like this.  Personal photo.

4.) Place salmon in a lightly greased 9×13 inch pan, and pour sauce over the fish.

5.) Bake for approximately 20 minutes, or until fish is light and flaky.

6.) Enjoy!  This dish is great paired with my Parmesan Pea Rice Medley (you can find the recipe at https://cantbelievehowstrangeitis.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/you-take-only-seconds-to-draw-me-in/), mixed vegetables (I used a bag of frozen broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots), and a glass of crisp white wine.

photo

It may not look like much, but trust me when I say that the flavors really pop.  It also probably looks like I have a ton of garlic on my salmon.  I do … But the taste actually isn’t overwhelming.  The flavors not only pop, they blend together well so that no one flavor is too strong.  Personal photo.

Leave a Reply

