In The Hurry Of The Past, I Forgot To Make It Last

This week I’ll be sharing a recipe with you that I actually can’t believe I haven’t shared already.  It’s incredibly simple, making it a perfect weeknight meal.  It’s also pretty healthy, and since Eric and I have been attempting to (mostly) eat a little healthier, it works well with our diets.  But the most important part?  This is one of Eric’s favorite meals.  It may even be his absolute favorite (that I make at home, anyway).

I will now share something funny/adorable that he does.  I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but Eric does the majority of the grocery shopping for our household.  He usually just asks me for a list, which prompts me to search for new recipes I want to try (as well as recipes we both love that I’d want to make again in the near future).  I will then make a preliminary list on my computer (also listing my recipe sources so I can easily find them again), and then add everything to the Our Groceries app.  Our Groceries is actually really helpful because we can add and delete things in real time and separate the lists by store (for example, we have a Target/HyVee/other local grocery stores list, a Trader Joe’s list, and a Costco list).

Anyway, I make a list and he gets everything.  Sometimes he also gets stuff that’s not on the list.  That’s obviously fine, as it’s often something delicious (like chocolate) or something that looked good and easy (like frozen skillet meals and pizzas that are a life saver on the nights we go to the gym or are otherwise running around for several hours and don’t have time to cook).  Sometimes, though, I’ll start looking through the kitchen and discover that he’s purchased all of the ingredients to make the meal I’m about to share with you.  I think it’s funny and kind of cute since it’s a somewhat subtle hint that he really wants me to make it again.  It’s not like he can’t ask (and he does a lot of the time), but I think he just sees the stuff in the store and thinks, “Oh, I should get this and then she’ll probably make it soon!”

Regardless, I think it’s adorable.  But, you know, I love him and am about to marry him so I think many things he does are adorable.  I’m realistic, though … Everything isn’t cute (trust me!).  Buying things to make his favorite dinner and then casually placing them in the kitchen, though, is definitely cute.

So, without further ado (or further mushiness), I present to you the recipe for Eric’s favorite meal!

Image

I realize that this meal looks very similar to the Crockpot Green Chili Chicken and Rice with Blue Corn Chip Crumbles (that recipe can be found here: https://cantbelievehowstrangeitis.wordpress.com/2013/09/10/say-you-will-or-that-you-wish-you-could-convincingly/), but trust me … It tastes much much different!  Personal photo.

Green Curry Chicken

Recipe taken from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe (www.melskitchencafe.com)

Adapted very slightly by me!  (Please note: I always make a double batch of sauce and rice, and this recipe reflects that.  Since we both really love this meal, we like to have plenty of leftovers.  It actually reheats very well!  If you don’t want to make so much, just cut the recipe in half.)

Ingredient List:

  • 2 large cans of chicken, shredded or cubed (You could easily use 3-4 boneless skinless chicken breasts as well, but that will obviously increase the cooking time.  I always take a shortcut with this recipe, and it has never mattered … It always tastes delicious!)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 14 oz. cans lite coconut milk (I always use lite to make it a little healthier, but regular is also fine.)
  • 1 7 oz. can diced green chilies
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 2 tsp Garam masala
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 6 cups rice (I always use either white basmati rice or jasmine rice.  Eric and I prefer jasmine rice, but I used basmati last time because it’s what we had on hand.)

Instructions:

1.) Prepare rice according to package instructions.

2.) In a deep saucepan, heat olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add shredded/cubed chicken and season with salt and black pepper, cooking for approximately 2 minutes.

3.) Add coconut milk, diced green chilies, and remaining spices to the chicken and bring to a simmer.

4.) Simmer for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally.  The sauce will be fairly runny, but it should thicken up a bit as it cooks.  Simmering for a while also helps all the flavors blend (at least I think there’s a difference when I let it simmer longer).

5.) Pour chicken and sauce over rice.

6.) Enjoy!  Eric and I always eat this meal with a side of spiced lentils.  We like the Tasty Bite brand, and typically go for the Jodhpur lentils (our favorite!) or Madras lentils.

Leave a Reply

