Memory Tells Me That These Times Are Worth Working For

Last week’s Wedding Wednesday post was unfortunately more of a rant.  I think I just needed to vent my frustration somewhere, and what better place to do it than my public blog for all to see?  (Well, I could probably think of a bunch of better alternatives, but too late for that now!)

This week I’ll actually write about something besides how insane wedding planning is making me.  (Though maybe some people actually like reading that sort of thing?)

Anyway, moving on …

There are a lot of things that aren’t really necessary when you’re planning a wedding.  Something that often isn’t necessary is sending out Save the Dates.  For us, however, Save the Dates were actually pretty important.

In my opinion, Save the Dates are crucial if a significant amount of guests will be traveling for the wedding.  Since all of my family and quite a few of my friends (as well as several of Eric’s family and friends) live out of town, sending Save the Dates was a no brainer for us.

About 8 months before the wedding, we started looking into Save the Date options.  We decided to order from Minted (www.minted.com).  I read a lot of positive reviews about this company, and when I checked out their Save the Date options, I was pleasantly surprised.  After searching through all of the options, we narrowed it down to 3 and chose from those.

These are the 3 we initially liked most:

MIN-52U-STD-001_A_PD

Image courtesy of http://www.minted.com.

Since our wedding is going to be more formal (not black tie, but still relatively formal), we knew we’d want our invitations to reflect the overall look and style we wanted.  But anything goes with Save the Dates!  We liked that these were really fun and cute, but I honestly didn’t know what “fun facts” we should include.  I was also concerned that the people receiving them might be like, “Uhhh … Great.  I don’t give a fuck about the highlights of your relationship.”  No one really wants to read that shit.

MIN-M40-STD-001_B_PD

Image courtesy of http://www.minted.com.

We really liked the simplicity of this Save the Date.  The colors were nice, since we’re planning to use a lot of blues, greens, and blue greens (as well as ivory and grey/silver) in our decor, and we also liked that it was an abstract autumn picture (those are supposed to be leaves at the bottom of the card).  But after looking at it more, we thought it might be too simple.  We really wanted something more “us” for a Save the Date card, and this is just kind of … Boring.

MIN-62S-STD-001_A_PD

Image courtesy of http://www.minted.com.

Then we came across this one.  As you may remember, Eric proposed to me using Scrabble tiles (if you missed that post, you can read all about it here:  “Nothing’s Gonna Stop Me From Floating”).  When we saw this, we were like, “I’m sure a lot of people would think this is cute since they know the proposal story.”  We really liked that it was “us” without oversharing a bunch of random shit.

I had several issues with these Save the Date cards, though.  First, I wasn’t a fan of any of the available color combinations.  I also didn’t like the fact that the cards said “Mark It” instead of “Save It.”  I don’t know … It just didn’t sound right to me.

Thankfully, the designers at Minted let you customize everything.  (And many times at no extra cost!)  I was able to tweak the wording and colors until I loved the design, and I didn’t pay anything extra.  In fact, I had a 10% off coupon, so I actually paid a little less.  (Who doesn’t love saving, even if only a little?)  I also sent the design back a couple of times because it wasn’t quite what I had in mind.  The designer was so great, though … It was just really nice to work with someone who cared about getting everything just right.  I would, without a doubt, recommend Minted for any paper needs (greeting cards, wedding stationery, baby announcements, etc.)!

And no, they didn’t pay me to write that (I wish!).  I just honestly had a great experience with them and I love to share information like that with others.  Someone might actually find it useful!

I blacked out our last names, but here is a scanned picture of the finished product:

Scan_Pic0001

The card itself is actually very ivory, but after several attempts scanning it in, this appeared to be the best I could do.  At least you get the idea.  Personal photo.

We sent these out about 4 or 5 months ago, and I still love them!  We also got quite a few compliments (especially from those who knew the proposal story).  Trust me, when you’re second guessing every detail, it’s nice to hear you made at least one decent decision!

One thought on “Memory Tells Me That These Times Are Worth Working For

  1. Pingback: They Say You Were Something In Those Formative Years | Can't Believe How Strange It Is To Be Anything At All ...

Leave a Reply

