Eyes Were Waking Up Just To Fall Asleep

The dish I’ll be sharing today doesn’t look that great in my picture, but it’s what I consider the perfect type of comfort food.  Delicious brats with potatoes in a creamy, tangy sauce … Definitely the ideal meal for a cool autumn or winter evening!

This recipe comes from a cookbook Eric bought for me years ago for Christmas.  At one time earlier that year I’d casually mentioned to him that I wanted to learn how to cook.  He remembered this and I wound up with the Betty Crocker 4 Ingredient Dinners cookbook.  I liked that each recipe was incredibly simple (and obviously didn’t require a ton of ingredients) … It was definitely great for learning!

Years later, I’ve obviously moved on to much more complicated recipes.  I still have a soft spot for many of the recipes from this cookbook, though … After all, this is what sparked my love for cooking!  (It also doesn’t hurt that the recipes are actually really good!)  I was thinking about this cookbook one night recently, and I remembered the recipe I’ll be sharing today.  It was one of my favorite meals to make about 4 or 5 years ago, and after making it again, I remembered why.

If you want a ridiculously easy meal that requires minimal prep work, you should try this.  And, really, even if you don’t mind spending a little longer in the kitchen, you should still try it.  It’s delicious!

photo

As I said, I know it doesn’t look that appetizing in this picture … But trust me when I say this is the ultimate comfort food!  Personal photo.

Warm German Potato Salad with Brats

Recipe taken from Betty Crocker 4 Ingredient Dinners

Adapted very slightly by me!

Ingredient List:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 6 bratwurst (I prefer to use green onion or beer brats if available.)
  • 1 package Betty Crocker sour cream and chives potatoes
  • 3 tbsp white vinegar

Instructions:

1.) Slice bratwurst into small to medium sized chunks.

2.) Heat olive oil in a medium skillet and add bratwurst.  Cook until browned, stirring occasionally.  When brats have finished cooking, remove from skillet and drain.

3.) Prepare potatoes according to package instructions in a large pot.  I always allow the potatoes to simmer for at least 20 minutes.

4.) Stir in white vinegar, and place cooked bratwurst on top of the potatoes.

5.) Cover and simmer for 5-10 minutes longer.

6.) Enjoy!  I always serve this as a main dish with a salad or another vegetable on the side, but it could also be served as a side dish.

Leave a Reply

