I’m So Empty Here Without You

As we get closer to our wedding day, I’ve been struggling with what to write about in my Wedding Wednesday posts.  Obviously the wedding is at the forefront of my mind right now … But my mind is spinning in a million different directions.

There’s a reason I’m telling you this (assuming someone is actually reading!) … It’s kind of a hint that this post may be a little scattered.  Hopefully I can pull it together long enough to write a coherent post this evening.

I initially wanted to put the Wedding Wednesday posts in some sort of chronological order.  I figured I’d write about the stuff we did early on first and then sort of follow along as it happened.  Well, I haven’t exactly done that.  I started off that way, but then I just decided to write about whatever I felt like whenever I felt like it.

And that’s what I plan to do today.

One of the things I stressed about most as I was figuring out my wedding day look was something most girls love to shop for: shoes.

I have very small feet.  I can wear a size 6 in sneakers, but I wear a 5 or 5.5 in pretty much everything else.  My feet are not only small, they’re also narrow … So shoes that slip on will often just slide right off.

Shoe shopping is obviously not fun for me.  It’s just frustrating!  I’ll find a cute pair of shoes, ask to see them in a size 5 and then hear, “I’m sorry, the smallest size we have is a 6.”  (Sometimes the smallest size is a 7!)  I’ll then tell them to bring out the 6 (because you never know!).  I slip my foot in and there’s at least 2-3 inches of room in the heel.  Clearly that doesn’t work.

When I was searching for the perfect pair of shoes for my wedding day, I started to realize that it might be a lost cause.  Although I’m short, I didn’t want to wear heels (I just don’t feel comfortable in them) … So that ruled out a ton of options.  I searched shoe stores in person and online and all of the flats were either hideous or didn’t come in a 5 or 5.5.

And then I decided that I didn’t really need to get a “fancy” pair of flats.  My dress is long, so it will cover my shoes.  Why not buy something I actually liked that would be comfortable?  (And bonus points if I could wear them again!)

So I bought a pair of Toms.  We may be having a slightly more formal wedding, but that’s no reason for my feet to suffer.  When I saw the natural crochet Toms online, I was sold.  They look surprisingly awesome with my dress, and I’m sure I’ll be glad I went with something that didn’t kill my feet.

I was too lazy to take a personal photo of my wedding day shoes, but here is a picture of what I’ll be wearing:

toms-natural-classic-crochet-slip-on-women-product-2-2216693-769582623_large_flex

Image courtesy of http://www.lyst.com.

They may not be the fanciest shoes available, but I really like them.  They also seem to be a popular choice for weddings these days, so at least I know I’m not completely crazy for choosing them.

One thought on “I’m So Empty Here Without You

  1. Pingback: ‘Cause You Don’t Mind Seeing Yourself In A Picture As Long As You Look Far Away | Can't Believe How Strange It Is To Be Anything At All ...

Leave a Reply

