A Burst Of Black, A Breath Of Smoke … I Disappear, I Lost Control …

Eric and I have been talking about cars quite a bit lately (mostly because he wants to get a new one in the next year or two), so this week’s list will feature some of the cars I personally drool over.

I love my car.  I really do.  In fact, I’ll even share a couple of pictures of it from the day I bought it a little over a year and a half ago:

Image

This is obviously the back of the car.  I immediately loved the blue shimmery color!  Personal photo.

Image

And this is obviously the interior.  It’s not quite this clean right now, but you get the idea.  The wood trim was one of my favorite things about it.  Personal photo.

Even though I love my car, I definitely look at other cars now and then.  I’m not planning to buy anything else (at least not for myself) for a while, but I definitely have my “dream” cars and will toss those out as suggestions while Eric is looking.  (Hey, even if it’s not my car, I’ll at least get to drive it around now and then if he buys it!)  Not all of them are “fancy” (though several are) … Basically, if I love the way it looks and could picture myself driving it, it made it onto the list.

This week’s list: My Top 7 Dream Cars

7.) Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring

Image

Image courtesy of gtcarlot.com.

I love it in the above color (Meteor Grey Mica).  This is one of the cars that falls into the “not fancy” category, but every time I see one on the road, my eye is immediately drawn to it.  The body is very sleek and stylish, and it’s small enough that I think I could actually maneuver it (unlike the CX-9, which seems considerably larger).  When I am finally ready to look for another vehicle, I’d probably test drive one of these.  Eric is usually the one with the AWD vehicle (we like having one of those for the winters here and one that’s better on gas for road trips), but I might be convinced to change that if this felt like the right vehicle for me.

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.mazdausa.com.

6.) Hyundai Tucson Limited

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.hyundaiusa.com.

I prefer this in Shadow Grey, but I couldn’t find any good pictures online of the car in this color.  This is obviously also not a “fancy” car, but it’s one I very seriously considered when I was looking into purchasing a vehicle almost 2 years ago.  (The Volvo was a last minute decision, but I’m glad I went with it!)  Still … I love the Tucson.  It also has a sleek and stylish look and seems to have enough room without being overwhelmingly large.  The great thing about Hyundai is the 10 year, 100,000 mile warranty and the fact that you can get every option available on a car for much less than you’d pay for many other brands.  I actually owned a Hyundai Tiburon for almost 11 years (it was my first and only car before the Volvo), so I can say with confidence that they make great cars that last.  

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.hyundaiusa.com.

5.) Lexus GS 450h

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.lexus.com.

Now we’re venturing into the “I-probably-will-never-own-one-of-these” category.  This car is insanely expensive (at least in my opinion) with a starting price of $59,600.  I just don’t think I could ever justify spending $60,000+ on a car (even if it is pretty and awesome) … And, quite frankly, I couldn’t afford to do so right now even if I wanted to.  The car itself is lovely, though, especially in the Meteor Blue Mica color.  The interior is also pretty awesome, as the GS 450h boasts an “exclusive matte bamboo trim.”  I love wood trim in cars (as you may be able to tell from the pictures of my own car), so I think this looks amazing.  It also has a ton of really awesome features that make me wish I could manage to part with that much cash.  But for now, I’ll just have to admire from afar.

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.lexus.com.

4.) Nissan Juke SL

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.nissanusa.com.

I’ll backtrack for just a moment into the realm of “not fancy.”  I think people either love or hate the Juke, but I personally think this car is really funky and unique (and gorgeous in the Gun Metallic color!) … Something I’d very much like to drive.  This was another car I very seriously considered when I first started shopping around a couple of years ago.  My main issue with the Juke was that the backseat seemed a little cramped.  When I was searching for a new car, I wanted something with quite a bit of space in the back for a baby/carseat.  (We don’t have kids yet, but this is something Eric and I have been seriously discussing for a while.  I didn’t want to have to trade in my vehicle after just a few years because there wasn’t enough room.)  Otherwise, though, I think the Juke seems like an awesome car … Maybe one day I can get one!

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.nissanusa.com.

3.) Volvo S60 T6 R-Design, AWD Platinum Package

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.volvocars.com.

Volvos are, to me, in a mid-range category.  They’re not super fancy and unattainable, but they can also be pricy (this model, with all the options I love, is close to $50,000).  The great thing about Volvos, though, is that you can get a used one (as I did) in great condition with fairly low mileage for a reasonable price.  So although I may not be able to buy one of these bad boys brand new, I could eventually wind up with one a few years down the line.  (And Volvos age well, so it’s not a huge deal to buy one that’s a few years old as long as the previous owner actually took care of it.)  I love this car in Electric Silver Metallic, and would certainly put it at the top of my list when I start car shopping again in a few years.

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.volvocars.com.

2.) Audi TT Roadster Convertible

Image

Image courtesy of autos.yahoo.com.

This car was my childhood dream car.  (Well, okay, maybe not childhood … But my dream car from my high school and college years.)  It’s completely impractical (especially when you live in the Midwest where winters can be pretty harsh!), but it always seemed like such a fun little car to zip around in.  If I could somehow get one of these without paying a fortune for it (yeah right!), I’d do it in a heartbeat.  I mean, as long as I had something else that was more reliable and useful year round, why not?  I actually really like the Glacier White Metallic with Black roof combo on this car … So if anyone reading this wants to buy one for me, you know what I like!  (Just kidding … Though, let’s be real, I wouldn’t turn it down!)

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.newcars.com.

1.) Infiniti QX70

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.infinitiusa.com.

I have been in love with Infiniti crossovers for years now.  Eric used to have an Infiniti sedan, and I loved that as well … But not as much as a crossover.  I’ve actually been trying to convince him that we should get one of these (though obviously I will be stealing this to drive as much as possible!). I don’t know what it is about these cars, but owning one would make me ridiculously happy and excited.  The exterior is interesting: sleek and sophisticated (especially in Liquid Platinum!) but also a little unique and funky.  The interior is lovely and spacious without being overwhelmingly large.  If we ever end up with one of these, you can bet you’ll be seeing some pictures on this blog!  (You can also bet I’ll be driving it around town at least 90% of the time.)

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.infinitiusa.com.

There are a lot of other cars I love that didn’t make the list.  Perhaps there will be a “part two” in the future.  If anyone reading this owns any of these, please feel free to comment regarding what you like (and dislike) about the vehicle.  I always like to hear personal experiences!

Leave a Reply

