The Sky Ablaze With Cannon Fire, We All Raise Our Voices To The Air

For our first full weekend together as a married couple, Eric and I decided to make a huge breakfast/brunch.  I’ll share one of the recipes with you now, but you’ll have to wait until next week to get the second.

I debated which recipe to share first, but I think I’m going to wait to share my favorite next week.  Don’t get me wrong, the recipe I’m sharing today is delicious (and easy!) … But I was beyond excited that the other recipe turned out so well.  I was so excited that I did one of the most annoying things you can do on Facebook … Posted a picture of it.  (In my defense, I don’t post every meal I eat.  I also don’t post random, not so extraordinary foods.  I mean, really … No one cares about your plain scrambled eggs and wheat toast!)

Image

This is from the night before, right before I tossed it in the fridge to sit overnight.  I decided to bake it in a disposable pan since this was a “trial run” and I wanted everything to be made exactly the same way.  I planned to recreate this dish for a work potluck if it turned out well (and it obviously did, since I’m sharing the recipe on my blog).  I’m actually baking my second casserole as I type this!  Personal photo.

Southwestern Egg and Potato Casserole

Recipe taken from Taste of Home (www.tasteofhome.com)

Adapted very slightly by me!

Ingredient List:

  • 7 large eggs
  • 1 package Ore-Ida frozen Potatoes O’Brien with peppers and onions
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded Colby Jack cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 12 oz. can evaporated milk
  • 1 4 oz. can diced green chilies
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Dash of cayenne pepper
  • Salsa (optional, for serving)

Instructions:

1.) Mix frozen potatoes with peppers and onions with the diced green chilies in a large mixing bowl.

2.) In a second large bowl, whisk together eggs, evaporated milk, black pepper, salt, and cayenne pepper.  When fully mixed, add in approximately half of both the Colby Jack and sharp cheddar cheeses, stirring to blend well.

3.) In a lightly greased 9×13 inch pan, pour about half of the potato and chili mixture on the bottom.  Add the egg, milk, spice, and cheese mixture.

4.) Stir in the remaining potato and chili mixture, and mix well in the pan to ensure all components are evenly distributed.

5.) Sprinkle remaining cheese over the top of the casserole, then cover and refrigerate overnight.

6.) Remove from the refrigerator 30 minutes before baking.

7.) Bake, uncovered, at 350 degrees for 1 hour.  Remove from oven and let stand for 5-10 minutes prior to serving.

8.) Enjoy!  I tried some with and without a side of red salsa (I used my favorite, Herdez Casera Medium), and it was delicious both ways.

Image

This was the finished product.  Delicious and simple!  Personal photo.

Leave a Reply

