One Day I’ll Get To You And Teach You How To Get To Purest Hell

I realize I haven’t posted anything in quite a while.  I didn’t abandon or forget about the blog.  I just honestly haven’t felt motivated to update.  Between that and various family and friend events, the blog kind of got pushed to the back burner.

But I’m back now!  Hopefully I’ll be a little better about updating (though I’m not going to promise anything since the holiday season is upon us).

And … We’re back to Music Monday.  I really didn’t know what to write about this week.  I think part of the problem with taking a break from blogging is that it’s difficult to get back into the groove of coming up with interesting topics to write about.

After some thought, I decided to write about my latest musical obsession: Santigold.

Image

Image courtesy of http://www.mixmag.net.

I’ve known about Santigold for several years now, but I only recently really got into her work.  One of my close friends put the song “Lights Out” on a mix CD (yeah, we still do those!) a few years ago.  At the time, I liked the song but didn’t love it.  It was a nice background type song, but it really didn’t inspire me to seek out more of her music.

While I was trying to decide on the music for our wedding, I spent a lot of time trying to figure out what songs we could play that would get people up and dancing.  I searched through several lists online that gave great examples of alternative and indie music that would work for a wedding reception.  Santigold popped up a couple of times, and I was honestly surprised.  As I said, “Lights Out” is a nice song, but it’s more of a song you listen to while you’re doing something else.  I never hear it and think, “Oh, I need to stop what I’m doing immediately to listen to this song.”   (And yes, I actually do that quite a bit!)

But then I started listening to more of her work.  And it’s good.  

Santigold creates an interesting blend of hip-hop, electronic, reggae, and indie rock (among other influences) in her music.  Most of the songs make me want to get up and shake my ass … And that’s obviously what I was going for when I was searching for music to add to the “To Be Played” list for the reception.  

Some of my personal favorites include:

* “Creator”

* “Disparate Youth”

* “Say Aha”

* “GO!” (Which is made even more awesome with the appearance of Karen O of Yeah Yeah Yeahs fame on the track.)

* “L.E.S. Artistes”

* “Fame”

These songs come from both of her albums, so I’d definitely recommend checking them both out.  If nothing else, you may find some fun new music to add to your workout playlists!

Leave a Reply

