Do You Harbor Sighs Or Spit In My Eye?

This week’s Tell All Thursday post is based on yet another of the 30 day blogging challenge topics.  (Side note: I feel like it’s going to take me forever to get through all of these topics.  On the bright side, I’ll have Tell All Thursday topics for the next couple of months or so!)

This topic is actually something I had some difficulty writing about because I struggled with how much I should divulge on a public blog.  

This week’s topic: My Opinion On Cheating

I’m going to be completely honest here … I’ve cheated in the past.  This isn’t something that everyone knows (though I told Eric about it near the beginning of our relationship).  I’m not going to say that it was completely justified or anything, but I was much younger (15 years old) and definitely not over the ex-boyfriend I cheated with.  I knew it was wrong at the time, but in the moment it oddly felt right.

The boyfriend I cheated on and I were not serious at all.  I mean, I guess it was somewhat serious for an early high school relationship (we spent most weekends together and I received a piece of jewelry from him as a gift for … My birthday, I think?).  But really … I was 15.  I didn’t know what I wanted out of life (for the most part anyway), and I wasn’t very invested in the relationship.

Again, this is not to say that I think what I did was okay.  It wasn’t.  I never came clean to him, so unless one of my friends told him I cheated, he never knew.  I’m not proud of the fact that I cheated … But that doesn’t change the fact that I did it.

I don’t excuse cheating, though.  If you’re not that into the relationship/the other person, just end it.  That’s what I should have done back then, but I was young and dumb and afraid of being single.  (Ahhh high school.)  I eventually broke up with the guy I cheated on, though it was difficult … He really didn’t want to let me go, so it went from “I want to break up” to “Okay, we’ll take a break from one another for a while” to “Seriously, we need to break up right now!”

As I’ve gotten older and further removed from that moment in time, I know that the old “once a cheater, always a cheater” saying isn’t always true.  I would never cheat on Eric.  Not only could I never hurt him in that way, but I also have absolutely no desire to be with anyone but him.  I married him for many reasons, but above all else, I married him because I love him.

So what do I think about cheating?  It’s really never okay.  I mean, regardless of how serious the relationship is, someone is bound to get hurt eventually.  So … Don’t do it.  As I said before, if you’re not into the other person anymore, just end it.  That’s the right thing to do.

Leave a Reply

