And When You Finally Disappear, We’ll Just Say You Were Never Here

I feel like I should have shared this recipe a long time ago.  I’ve only made it twice, but it’s something I know I’ll make again.  And again.  And again.

This dish is full of flavor, and, as an added bonus, it’s also pretty healthy!  It’s similar to something you might order at Chipotle or Qdoba, but uses lean fish in place of some of the fattier meat options provided in those restaurants.  (Trust me, I’m not knocking Chipotle or Qdoba.  They’re delicious!  I could probably eat at those two restaurants every day for the rest of my life and be happy.  I might weigh 600 pounds, but I’d be happy.)

photo copy 4

You can’t even see all of the delicious components of the meal in this picture.  Don’t worry, I’ll share some additional pictures … You need to see all of the goodness that goes into one of these bowls!  Personal photo.

Spicy Fish Taco Bowls

Recipe taken from Pinch of Yum (www.pinchofyum.com)

Adapted very slightly by me!

Ingredient List:

  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 to 4 tilapia fillets, approximately 4 oz. each (I used 3 the last time I made this, and that was plenty for the two of us.  We even had leftovers.)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced (or the equivalent of jarred, pre-minced garlic if you’re pressed for time)
  • 1 cup sweet corn kernels (The original recipe suggests fresh corn straight from the cob.  I’m sure that would taste amazing, but we used frozen sweet corn.  And you know what?  It tasted crisp and fresh.  So feel free to use what you have on hand!)
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 15.5 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 4 cups steamed rice (I typically use whatever we have on hand.  The last time I made this, I used white basmati rice.  I used brown rice the time before that.  Both options were delicious.)
  • Toppings of your choice (Some examples include salsa, fresh cilantro, guacamole, shredded cheese, sour cream, and fresh avocado slices.)

Instructions:

1.) Mix the chili powder, cumin, and cayenne pepper together in a small bowl.

photo

This will act as a “rub” for your fish.  Personal photo.

2.) Rub the fish evenly on both sides with the spice mixture.  I use a ton of seasoning, but if you want to lighten up on the spiciness, feel free to use less.  If desired, add salt and black pepper for additional flavor.

photo copy

I wasn’t kidding about using a ton of seasoning.  I promise it won’t overpower the other components of the dish if you want really spicy fish fillets.  Personal photo.

3.) Add the olive oil to a large nonstick skillet and heat over medium high heat.

4.) Add the garlic and cook for approximately 30 seconds, or until fragrant.

5.) Place the tilapia fillets in the skillet; cook the fish on each side for several minutes.  Once the fish is completely done (it should be completely white and flake apart easily), remove the fillets and set aside on a plate.

6.) Add the corn, red bell pepper, and onion to the pan.  Do not add any additional olive oil.  Heat until the peppers and onion are tender-crisp, stirring occasionally.

photo copy 2

Look at that vibrant color!  (You know I had to bust out some Gordon Ramsay phrases on this one!)  Personal photo.

7.) Add the drained and rinsed black beans to the vegetable mixture.  Stir to combine and heat through.

photo copy 3

Yum!  Personal photo.

8.) Shred the fish fillets into small chunks, and add it to the bean and vegetable mixture in the skillet.  Stir to combine.

9.) Spoon over bowls of steamed rice.  Garnish with your choice of toppings.  I used guacamole and two types of salsa: Herdez Casera Medium and Herdez Salsa Verde.

10.) Enjoy!  I usually just serve this with additional chips, salsa, and guacamole.  This is a pretty filling meal, so it’s not really necessary to make a bunch of side dishes.

Leave a Reply

