Baby, I’m Bad News …

After my last flop of a post (okay, maybe it wasn’t that terrible … But it definitely wasn’t my best work), I decided to take a week off from blogging.  Sometimes I feel like I should be writing something, no matter what it is … You know, just to keep the creative juices flowing.  (Or something like that.)  But lately I’ve been trying to take a step back if I’m feeling burnt out.  I mean, I started this blog because I enjoy writing and because I wanted to share some of that writing with others.  I didn’t start it because I had to.  I didn’t start it to make money.  So there’s obviously no reason for me to stress about coming up with interesting topics for this blog.  If I can’t come up with something, I just won’t write.  (Or I’ll just share random pictures of stuff I like.  That’s fun too … Sometimes.)

Anyway, on to more important things.  Like music.

One thing you should know about me is that I love to sing.  I’m not an amazing singer by any stretch of the imagination, but I’m not bad either.  Truth: I don’t usually really sing in front of other people.  I mean, I’ll sing … But in a goofy, not awesome way.  A lot of my friends (even close friends) have never heard me really sing.  Well, unless they’re friends from high school … I was in a musical back in the day, after all!

I’ve always harbored this somewhat secret dreamworld image of myself as a famous singer.  I know, I know … It’s ridiculous and dumb.  But even in my dreamworld image, I’m not some super hot pop star pulling in millions of dollars from album sales, sold out arena shows, and various endorsements.  I’m more like Tori Amos or Fiona Apple … A singer/songwriter who doesn’t necessarily appeal to the masses because she writes/sings about whatever moves her.  (Yeah, I’ve probably thought about this a little too much.)

My best friend, Kevin (the same Kevin who was Man of Honor in our wedding), and I always used to joke around about auditioning for American Idol.  I’ve only seen a few episodes of that show in my entire life, so I’m no expert on what they’d be looking for.  (I do know that I’m now beyond the cutoff age, though.  I’m old.)  But … There are other similar types of shows.  And though I know I realistically would never make it on a show like that (and, if I’m being completely honest with myself, I don’t think I’d want to be on a show like that), once in a while I like to think about what I’d sing if I were to audition.

These are songs that I enjoy singing in the privacy of my car or apartment.  These are songs that I actually feel pretty confident singing … So if I ever actually had to sing in front of someone else (and I mean actually sing), I wouldn’t be mortified.  Well … Maybe.

So here are ten songs (the ones that immediately come to mind) I would consider singing if I were to audition for a talent competition:

10.) October – Broken Bells

9.) Bottle It Up – Sara Bareilles

8.) Raining in Baltimore – Counting Crows

7.) Back to Black – Amy Winehouse

6.) In the Aeroplane Over the Sea – Neutral Milk Hotel

5.) I Will Follow You Into the Dark – Death Cab for Cutie

4.) Miss Misery – Elliott Smith

3.) Snow Cherries from France – Tori Amos

2.) Oh Well – Fiona Apple

1.) Of Space and Time – City and Colour

Leave a Reply

