I’ve Been Making Money Off My Indifference

One of my favorite things about fall and winter is the frequent appearance of chili on the menu.  During college football season, Eric and I often head over to his parents’ house to watch the Nebraska game (okay, he watches and I just enjoy the company and food).  And most of the time we have big bowls of chili during halftime.

Eric’s mom makes great chili.  We usually bring some home for leftovers, and I’m always sad when the last bit is gone.

I, on the other hand, have been hunting for the perfect chili recipe for years.  Don’t get me wrong … I love trying new types of chili.  But I’d really like to find a chili recipe that Eric and I love.  A go-to chili recipe that’s delicious and thick and spicy and comforting.  And while I’m still searching for that perfect chili recipe, this one could be in the running (with some more tweaking). 

Image

I couldn’t get a decent picture of the chili, so this has to do.  Although it doesn’t look overly appetizing, I can promise that it tasted pretty damn good.  Personal photo.

Meaty Thick Man Chili

Recipe taken from http://www.allrecipes.com.

Adapted by me!

Ingredient List:

  • 3 to 3.5 lbs lean ground turkey
  • 1 30 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 1 15 oz. can kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 15 oz. can Great Northern beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced (or the equivalent of jarred, pre-minced garlic if you’re pressed for time)
  • 3 tsp chili powder (I tried to use quite a bit to get a nice spicy flavor, but I think it could actually use even more next time.  I’d recommend playing around with the amount and adjusting it to your preferred level of heat.)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 cup water (I might add more water next time, though.  I love really thick chili, but the leftovers were almost more sauce-like than soup-like.)

Instructions:

1.) Layer the uncooked turkey*, tomato sauce, kidney beans, Great Northern beans, chopped onion, chopped bell pepper, garlic, chili powder, cumin, sea salt, black pepper, and water in a crockpot.

2.) Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 2-3 hours, stirring occasionally to break up the meat.

3.) Enjoy!  (No, seriously … That’s all you have to do.)  I always like to eat my chili over a bowl of rice (as you may be able to see in the picture I posted), so I made some white basmati rice to go along with this meal.  We had some shredded sharp cheddar cheese available as a topping, and I’m sure sour cream would be great as well.  Eric also made the lemon poppyseed muffins you see in the picture.  Yum!

*Note:  I didn’t brown the turkey before putting it into the crockpot because it was a busy Saturday and I really just wanted to dump everything in and (mostly) forget about it.  It was fine that way, but I may brown it in some olive oil next time in order to add some more flavor.  It also might allow me to break up the pieces of meat a little more.  I had some huge chunks of meat (as you may have noticed in the picture), which was fine for the most part … I’d just prefer a more even distribution of meat throughout.

One thought on “I’ve Been Making Money Off My Indifference

  1. Pingback: I’m Watching Through My Own Light As It Tints The Shade Of You | Can't Believe How Strange It Is To Be Anything At All ...

Leave a Reply

