All The Soldiers Say, “It’ll Be Alright, We May Make It Through The War If We Make It Through The Night …”

Last week I was all, “I’m going to post every day and make a real effort to create interesting content!”

And then I kind of … Didn’t.

I don’t know if anyone else experiences this, but I always find it incredibly difficult to write anything when my husband is around.  He knows I blog, he reads the blog, and he encourages me to continue blogging since he knows I have fun with it … So it’s not like he’s specifically preventing me from writing.  It’s just that I’d rather spend time with him than go off in another room with my laptop to pound out a post.

We’ve been watching Dexter together (again, from the beginning, though we never made it past season 4 previously for whatever reason), so we’ll usually spend at least a couple of hours watching that.  Some nights we also go to the gym together.  Other nights one or both of us will cook a slightly more elaborate and time consuming meal that also may take some time to clean up.  Add in the fact that sometimes I’m just way too fucking exhausted to deal with trying to be creative after a long day at work, and it’s easy to just stop writing for a while.

Anyway, I’m going to make a real effort to keep up with my blog for the next few weeks.  I know I’m not some amazing blogger with 1,000,000+ followers or anything, but I hope that at least a few people out there enjoy reading my thoughts and will appreciate that I want to post entertaining content here on a regular basis.  And, if nothing else, it’s something I do for myself … After all, if I want to become a better writer, the first step is practice.  Lots of practice!

I wanted to kick off this week with a feature on one of my favorite albums by one of my favorite bands.  I knew I wanted to do another album feature for this week’s Music Monday post, and as I was combing through my archives, I was surprised to see that I hadn’t already covered any albums by this band.  (Though I’ve definitely mentioned them in a few posts.)

The band in question?  Alexisonfire.

alexisonfire

If you’re wondering just how much I like this band, I will tell you that I’ve traveled farther to see them than I have for any other band or artist ever.  Eric and I went to Montreal in December 2010 to see them live (though of course we did other stuff while we were there).  Image courtesy of www.nowtoronto.com.

I know they’re not everyone’s cup of tea.  A lot of my friends actually tease me about liking them because “it’s just a bunch of screaming.”

Though really it’s not.

The album I’ll be discussing today, Watch Out!, is my favorite by Alexisonfire.  It’s also the perfect album to pick up if you’re unfamiliar with their work because it has a great mix of more melodic songs and more high energy songs.

photo

Personal photo.

I’ve mentioned numerous times on this blog that I love Dallas Green.  I’m a huge fan of both Alexisonfire and City and Colour.  I think for those skeptical about the “screamo” or “post-hardcore” nature of Alexisonfire’s music, he’s at least an interesting addition to the mix.  He’s undeniably a talented musician, and he was the reason I was initially drawn to this band.  I know there was some controversy for a while surrounding their breakup and the fact that he was quite possibly the “villain” in the situation (mostly due to how popular his City and Colour project was becoming), but I never really bought into all of that.  I was very sad when they announced they were calling it quits, but I always felt like it was probably a group decision focused on what was best for the majority.

But that’s not what this post is about.  This post is about how awesome Watch Out! is.  It’s one of those albums I can listen to from start to finish over and over without getting sick of it.  It contains my favorite Alexisonfire song of all time (“Side Walk When She Walks”), but it also features many other classic (at least in my opinion) songs by this band.  Basically, you should check it out.  Immediately.

This is one of those albums that’s so good that it’s really difficult to pick just five favorite songs.  After some thought, though, I managed to narrow it down.  Here are my personal favorite songs (along with my favorite lyrics from each song) from Watch Out!:

* Side Walk When She Walks

Personal Favorite Line(s): Now I’m afraid of open water/But I often bathe in sin

* Happiness by the Kilowatt

Personal Favorite Line(s): So this is continuous happiness/You know, I always imagined it something more

* Control

Personal Favorite Line(s): Look past the mirror/That there’s something inside/Something more to your life/My words won’t heal you now

* No Transitory

Personal Favorite Line(s): And this knife/This knife/This is my most/This is my most/This is my most important appendage

* It Was Fear of Myself that Made Me Odd

Personal Favorite Line(s): And I exhale/Causing the oceans’ endless waves/As I emerge/Shaking the wreckage from my hair

If anyone reading this happens to like Alexisonfire, what do you think of Watch Out!?  Which songs would you include in your top five?

Leave a Reply

