I’m Watching Through My Own Light As It Tints The Shade Of You

I’m not sure if I’ve discussed our grocery shopping habits in this blog before, so if I have, sorry … I’m going to do it again.  (There’s a point to this, I promise.)

About once a month, we make a big grocery shopping trip.  Or, to be more accurate, Eric makes a big grocery shopping trip.  Since I tend to cook most of the meals, I spend time researching recipes I’d like to try, make a list, and then Eric buys all of the ingredients.  This works well for us … He often has days off during the week (whereas I work Monday through Friday), so he’s able to hit the stores when they’re less crowded.  He also doesn’t really mind grocery shopping, which is awesome because I hate it.  (Though, to be fair, I probably hate it because it’s so damn crowded on the weekends and in the evenings after work.)  We each go to the store periodically to pick up essentials (like fruit, milk, etc.), but the big grocery trip usually only happens once a month.

When I’m making my list, I usually ask Eric if there’s anything specific he wants me to make in the next few weeks.  The last time I asked, he said he was really craving a white chili.

I’ve mentioned before that I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect chili recipe.  I posted a pretty good recipe a few weeks ago (that can be found here: I’ve Been Making Money Off My Indifference), but it still wasn’t the one.

To be honest, the recipe I’m about to share with you isn’t the one either.  It was good, but it definitely could use some tweaking.  I’m not sure exactly what I’ll do to change it in the future, but it was good enough to share (and to make again in order to try to make it even better).

photo

As you can see from my picture, it’s great with a sprinkle of Colby Jack cheese and a dollop of sour cream on top!  Personal photo.

Creamy White Chicken Chili

Recipe taken from allshecooks.com.

Adapted by me!

Ingredient List:

  • 3 to 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (I used 3 large breasts, and that was plenty of meat.)
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 tbsp jarred, pre-minced garlic
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 2 15 oz. cans Great Northern beans, rinsed and drained
  • 4 4 oz. cans diced green chilies
  • 2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 2 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp cilantro
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 cups sour cream (I highly recommend garnishing your chili with extra sour cream!)
  • Colby Jack or Pepper Jack cheese for garnishing (I highly recommend this as well!)

Instructions:

1.) Layer the uncooked chicken, chopped onion, chopped bell pepper, Great Northern beans, diced green chilies, garlic, sea salt, black pepper, cumin, oregano, cilantro, cayenne pepper, and chicken broth in a crockpot.

2.) Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 2-3 hours.

3.) When the chicken is cooked through, remove it from the crockpot and place it on a plate.  Shred the chicken thoroughly with two forks and return it to the crockpot.

4.) At the end of the cook time, stir in the sour cream and heavy whipping cream until warmed through.

5.) Enjoy!  As I mentioned in my picture caption, this tastes great with a little cheese and sour cream on top (and some extra cilantro, which I didn’t mention in the caption but is obviously there).  I didn’t make any rice to go with it this time (I know I’ve mentioned before that I love rice with chili), so maybe that’s part of the reason I felt this recipe was lacking something.  I didn’t make any side dishes because I was feeling kind of lazy the day I made this, but I think something simple like chips and salsa and/or guacamole would taste great with this chili.

Leave a Reply

