Certain Things Just Happen When You Make No Plans …

As many of you know, last night was Oscar night.

I’ve always enjoyed award shows.  I’m not sure why, really.  I mean, sometimes it’s fun because someone I specifically like has been nominated … But this year I wasn’t that invested.  I haven’t seen any of the films that were nominated for Best Picture (which might be a first for me), though, to be fair, I would like to see at least half of them.  I’m sure I’ll watch them once they make it to Netflix.

Anyway, in the spirit of award shows, I’ve decided to make this week’s Music Monday post a little more random than usual.  It’s basically going to be my personal “award” list.  This is just for fun of course, and it will include things I like and dislike.  Because … Why not?

Favorite Male Vocalist:  Dallas Green (Alexisonfire/City and Colour)

Favorite Female Vocalist:  Fiona Apple

Favorite Male Songwriter/Lyricist:  Elliott Smith

Favorite Female Songwriter/Lyricist:  Tori Amos

Favorite Cover Song:  “No Quarter” originally by Led Zeppelin, as covered by Tool on Salival

Favorite Love Song:  “The Luckiest” by Ben Folds

Favorite TV Theme (Instrumental):  “Blood Theme” by Daniel Licht from Dexter

Favorite Movie Theme (Instrumental):  “Lux Aeterna” by The London Ensemble from Requiem for a Dream

Favorite TV Theme (Non-Instrumental):  “Secret” by The Pierces from Pretty Little Liars

Favorite Movie Theme (Non-Instrumental):  “Miss Misery” by Elliott Smith from Good Will Hunting

Track That Should Have Been On An Album:  “Seasick” by Silversun Pickups from the Record Store Day single Seasick

Best Compilation Album Track:  “Sleepless” by The Decemberists from the compilation album Dark Was the Night

Song I Like By An Artist I Don’t:  “Closer” by Kings of Leon

Song I Can’t Stand By An Artist I Like:  “Hot Knife” by Fiona Apple

Album I Don’t Really Like By An Artist I Like:  Port of Morrow by The Shins (There are a couple of good songs, but otherwise it’s very “meh” for me.)

Most Overrated Band:  Coldplay

Most Underrated Band:  Emery

Band That Should Break Up:  Nickelback (or really any similar shitty radio rock band) … How can there possibly be a greatest hits album from this band?!?!

Band That Should Get Back Together:  Alexisonfire

Best Album Artwork:  In the Aeroplane Over the Sea by Neutral Milk Hotel

In_the_aeroplane_over_the_sea_album_cover_copy

This is such an iconic image.  

neutral-milk-hotel

When you unfold the CD booklet, this is the image you’ll get.  I love the airplane/gramophone image so much that I’m planning to eventually have it tattooed on my shoulder blade along with the lyrics “The music and medicine you needed for comforting.” 

It was actually pretty difficult to come up with some of these because there are so many great bands/artists, songs, etc. out there.  If anyone is interested in sharing their “winners” in the comments (or on their own blog), please feel free to do so.  I’d love to see how other people fill this out!

Leave a Reply

