I Strain My Eyes And Try To Tell The Difference Between Shooting Stars And Satellites

I wish I had something really awesome to write about for today’s 30 day blogging challenge topic … But I don’t.  Not really.  I’m going to try to make it work anyway.

This week’s topic: The Best Thing That Happened To Me This Week

Like I said, I wish I had a great story to share.  It would be awesome to be able to say, “My life is really exciting, so great things happen all the time!”  But … That’s not real life.  At least not mine.

This week has actually been particularly shitty because I’ve been sick.  I had a cough for about a week that was mostly just annoying.  Then, suddenly, I was sick.  Last Friday I started feeling worse, and the weekend basically consisted of me laying around on the couch, reading and watching TV (and coughing and blowing my nose).  I also had a fever on and off for four days.  Ugh.  I’m still sick, though I’m slowly starting to come out of my funk.  Very slowly.

Anyway, since I’ve been sick, I really haven’t done much.  I go to work, I come home, I read, I watch TV with Eric, I update my blog … And that’s about it.  I just haven’t had the energy to do anything else.  And since I haven’t done much, well … There’s nothing too exciting to share.

I realize this has turned into a rant about being sick.  I also realize no one really wants to read something like that.  So … Sorry.

Instead of making this entire post about how shitty it is to be sick, though, I’m going to end by sharing a few positive things (however small some might be).

I finished my fourth book of the year.  I still have a ton of catching up to do if I want to hit my goal of 50 this year, but it’s still progress!

Eric and I tried a new recipe on Saturday night.  Even though I felt like crap that day, I had fun cooking with my husband.  (Oh, and the recipe also turned out well.  I’ll be sharing it soon!)

And finally, the biggest piece of news.  I mentioned it in last Saturday’s post, but I’ll mention it again because it’s definitely the best thing that has happened in the recent past.  I was offered a new position within my current company last week!  I won’t start until later this month, but it’s a move I’m really looking forward to.  My new position comes with added responsibilities and a slight pay bump, which is always nice.  While I love my current coworkers and boss, I really felt like it was time for me to make a move in order to further my career.  I can’t wait to get started!

Leave a Reply

