In Upper Atmosphere My Head Comes Loose, And In The Free Fall I Can Feel The Blues

Eric and I really love Indian food.  We have a couple of Indian restaurants we prefer when we’re planning to go out for a nicer, more expensive meal, as well as a couple that are easier on the wallet and can just as easily satisfy our cravings.

Once in a great while, though, we attempt to make Indian food at home.  I won’t pretend that it’s authentic, because it’s not.  Despite this fact, though, our homemade Indian food at least always tastes good … So that’s something.  And it’s nice to know that we can make something with similar flavors at home.

This week I’ll be sharing the recipe I mentioned in my last Tell All Thursday post.  It turned out really well, and was surprisingly simple.  (It probably helped that we had a specific spice mixture available for this one, though.  We were given a set of Indian spice mixes as one of our wedding gifts, and this was one of them.)

photo

I sometimes wish I could somehow post smells and not just pictures of the food we make.  This smelled amazing, and tasted great … But I don’t think the picture accurately portrays how good it actually was.  Personal photo.

Rogan Josh

Recipe taken from www.penzeys.com.

Adapted very slightly by me!

Ingredient List:

  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 lb lamb stew meat
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 2 to 4 tbsp Penzeys Rogan Josh seasoning* (I used 3 tbsp and it made the dish pretty spicy, so I’d suggest using less if you’re sensitive to spicy foods.)
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt (I used Fage Total Greek yogurt.)
  • 2 cups frozen peas
  • 4 cups steamed basmati rice

Instructions:

1.) Melt butter in a large skillet.

2.) Add the lamb to the butter, cooking until browned.

3.) After browning, remove the lamb to a plate.  (Eric sliced the meat up even more at this point for more chunks throughout the dish, but this is optional.)

4.) Add the chopped onion to the skillet, browning over medium heat for approximately 5 minutes.  (I kept the juices from the meat/butter to cook this in, and I highly recommend doing this.)

5.) Turn the heat down to low and add the Penzeys Rogan Josh seasoning and sea salt, stirring for 1 minute.

6.) Add the lamb back to the skillet.

7.) Slowly add the water and plain yogurt, stirring to blend well.

8.) Simmer on low heat for 45 minutes to 1 hour to allow the flavors to mix.

9.) In the last 15 minutes of cook time, add the frozen peas and turn the heat up to medium low.

10.) Serve warm over steamed basmati rice.

11.) Enjoy!  Since I was sick when we made this, we didn’t go all out for side dishes.  The rice, meat, and vegetables in this dish were filling enough, though.  In the future, I’ll probably make a side of naan (not homemade, though, because I’m still a little intimidated by homemade breads) and/or lentils (which is typically a staple for us when having curries or other similar types of meals).

*Note: If you don’t have a Penzeys Spices nearby (or don’t want to order a bunch of seasonings online), the website states that the Rogan Josh seasoning is hand-mixed from paprika, garlic, ginger, cumin, coriander, black pepper, cayenne pepper, Korintje cassia cinnamon, cardamom, cloves, and saffron.

Leave a Reply

