These Games They Really Do You In When You’re Making Up Your Own Rules

I’ve noticed lately that my most popular blog posts are those featuring memes.

As I’ve mentioned before, I didn’t really start this blog to gain a ton of followers.  I started it because I enjoy writing, but often feel unmotivated to do so.  Updating a blog forces me to work on my writing on a fairly regular basis, which I’m hoping will eventually translate into better creative/fictional writing.  Blogging is also fun because it gives me an outlet to share random thoughts, reviews, etc.  I share a lot with the people in my life, but some things just seem better suited for sharing on a blog.  For example, most people in my life wouldn’t benefit from wedding planning advice.  A random person who stumbles upon my blog might, though.

But anyway … The point of all of that is to say that I don’t always make an effort to post things that I think will be “popular.”

Today, however, I am.

I’m pretty sure I’ve written about my love/hate relationship with Facebook in the past.  I appreciate that it gives me the opportunity to stay in touch with people I might have lost touch with otherwise.  I enjoy seeing pictures that my close friends and family share, especially since a lot of them live far away.

But … I hate some of the random shit that people post.  I don’t care what you had for lunch, nor do I want to see an Instagram picture of your peanut butter sandwich.  I don’t want to try to decipher what you mean when you tipe lyke dis nd thnk ppl can reed it.  I don’t want to scroll through a ton of images of sick children saying “If I get 1,000,000 likes, my rich uncle/neighbor/Prince William will pay for my cancer treatment!”  I also don’t need to see a bunch of pictures of Jesus that say “Like if you love Jesus!  Keep scrolling if you hate him and love Satan!”

No.  Just … No.

So today I’ve gathered some memes that represent some of the things that I hate about Facebook.  (And yes, I realize I could simply delete my account, but, as I said, it’s not all bad.  I just have to limit the amount of time I spend on it … Otherwise, I might go crazy.)

I’ll start with the profile picture.  I think this is pretty accurate:

a537189195cc89fe1875e6ae0aa62c88

I said it before, but I’ll say it again … I have no idea why some people insist on typing up a bunch of gibberish to post on Facebook.  I have to wonder … Is this person drunk, dumb, lazy, or all of the above?:

616acd7fb92aee9448e117a3489dd960

Another issue I’ve already mentioned … The random sick child/religious/insert other random thing that’s supposed to make you feel guilty if you don’t “like” it images that pop up in my newsfeed.  Do people really believe this shit?:

430e61160aa1547268869df33df4a965

Some people love to share everything.  Seriously.  I understand that you’re sick … If you want to share that, that’s cool.  But I don’t need to know that you’ve had explosive diarrhea for the last two days.  No one needs to know this (and this is coming from someone who tends to overshare!):

26fb6393cd0f342fea8d888292519fbe

Then there’s the question of Facebook etiquette.  I’m sure most people with a Facebook have wondered about this at one point or another:

73775afdd4098183f2b22e2784fc2e92

I will admit, though, that sometimes I like to watch the drama unfold on Facebook.  I find it particularly amusing because the majority of the people I’m friends with on Facebook are within 5 years of my age (so most people are between the ages of 24-34).  Adults.  Adults who, for whatever reason, sometimes feel the need to stir shit up.  While I always stay out of it, I won’t pretend I’m above busting out the popcorn and doing exactly what this meme says:

86a63d776620adaa63a30c7614c8f59b

Following a Facebook fight, I’ll often see one of the people involved make some sort of passive aggressive jab at the other person.  Then they’ll (OMG!) delete that person from their friends list!  (Or at least threaten to do so.)  This is pretty much my reaction every time this happens (and sadly it happens on a fairly regular basis):

5d09a30ccc83e9cbae6b0a1a80e6768c

So yes, I have a love/hate relationship with Facebook.  This leads me to my final meme, the one that sums up how I often feel after wasting some time scrolling through my news feed (especially if none of my close friends or family have posted anything):

35oba9

Leave a Reply

